TOB WatchJAPAN TOB & MBO DISCLOSURE DATA 日本語

Tender offer · TOB · Closed

The Kodensha,Co.,Ltd.1948

Acquirer: KINDEN CORPORATION · Sector: Construction · Tender offer filing date: 2026-05-26 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)

Successful[3]

Valuation ranges vs the offer price

Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.

AcquirerTarget
KPMG FAS DCF method KPMG FAS Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Acquirer): ¥8,365 〜 ¥11,437 Market price method KPMG FAS Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Acquirer): ¥5,893 〜 ¥7,510 Daiwa Securities Comparable companies method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · Comparable companies method (Target): ¥3,098 〜 ¥4,542 DCF method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Target): ¥3,302 〜 ¥4,013 Market price method ① Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · Market price method ① (Target): ¥2,590 〜 ¥3,860 Market price method ② Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · Market price method ② (Target): ¥5,893 〜 ¥7,510 Offer ¥11,501 4,0006,0008,00010,00012,000

Deal characteristics

Category
Take-private [4]
Acquirer type
Strategic buyer[5]
Auction (chosen from several bidders)
Yes[6]
Competing proposal
Not stated
Special committee
Yes[7]
Valuer engaged by the special committee
Not stated
Fairness opinion
Not stated

Offer price negotiation

From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥11,501 to the offer price of ¥11,501: 0.0% (1 distinct proposed prices).

DateProposed byPrice per share
2026-04-03 Acquirer ¥11,501[8]

Offer terms

ItemValueHistory
Offer price per common share ¥11,501 [1] —
Minimum shares 1,336,800 shares [9] —
Shares tendered 3,714,499 shares [10] —
Result Successful [3] —

Premiums (as stated in filings)

BasisAs ofValue
Closing price on the business day before announcement 2026-05-22 53.1%[2]
1-month simple average closing price 2026-05-22 73.9%[11]
3-month simple average closing price 2026-05-22 75.7%[12]
6-month simple average closing price 2026-05-22 95.2%[13]

Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).

Valuations

Valuer Engaged by Method Value per share Discount rate Perpetual growth rate
KPMG FAS Co., Ltd. Acquirer DCF method Value per share ¥8,365 〜 ¥11,437[14] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
KPMG FAS Co., Ltd. Acquirer Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥5,893 〜 ¥7,510[15] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target Comparable companies method Value per share ¥3,098 〜 ¥4,542[16] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target DCF method Value per share ¥3,302 〜 ¥4,013[17] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target Market price method (市場株価法①) Value per share ¥2,590 〜 ¥3,860[18] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target Market price method (市場株価法②) Value per share ¥5,893 〜 ¥7,510[19] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —

Timeline (filings)

FilingDateFilerdocID
Tender Offer Registration Statement 2026-05-26 KINDEN CORPORATION S100Y6IA
Position Statement 2026-05-26 The Kodensha,Co.,Ltd. S100Y6IM
Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement 2026-06-22 KINDEN CORPORATION S100YGL3
Tender Offer Report 2026-07-07 KINDEN CORPORATION S100YPAQ

Sources

  1. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100Y6IA) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 普通株式1株につき金11,501円(以下「本公開買付価格」といいます。)
  2. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 2026年5月22日の東京証券取引所スタンダード市場における当社株式の終値7,510円に対して53.14%
  3. Tender Offer Report (S100YPAQ) 2026-07-07
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の数の合計( 3,714,499 株)が買付予定数の下限(1,336,800株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書(その後提出された公開買付届出書の訂正届出書により訂正された事項を含みます。)に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
  4. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 最終的に当社を完全子会社化することを目的とする取引(以下「本取引」といいます。)の一環として、本公開買付けを実施することを決定したとのことです。
  5. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2025年4月上旬頃から当社を含む投資先の模索を含め幅広く検討を進めていたところ
  6. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 本取引についての最終的な候補先を決定するための第二次入札プロセス(以下「本第二次入札プロセス」といいます。)への参加を打診する公開買付者を含む4社の候補先
  7. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会を設置している。
  8. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 2026年4月3日に、三菱電機及び当社に対して、当社における2027年3月期の中間配当及び期末配当を無配とする前提で、本公開買付価格を11,501円
  9. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100Y6IA) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 買付予定数の下限を1,336,800株(所有割合:15.31%)として設定しており
  10. Tender Offer Report (S100YPAQ) 2026-07-07
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の数の合計( 3,714,499 株)が買付予定数の下限(1,336,800株)以上となりました
  11. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値6,615円に対して73.86%
  12. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 同過去3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値6,547円に対して75.67%
  13. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 同過去6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値5,893円に対して95.16%のプレミアム
  14. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :8,365円から11,437円
  15. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 :5,893円から7,510円
  16. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法 :3,098円から4,542円
  17. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :3,302円から4,013円
  18. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法① :2,590円から3,860円
  19. Position Statement (S100Y6IM) 2026-05-26
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法② :5,893円から7,510円