Tender offer · MBO · Closed
Katakura Industries Co.,Ltd.3001
Acquirer: Katakura Co., Ltd. · Sector: Textiles & Apparels · Tender offer filing date: 2021-11-09 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)
¥2,150[1]
2
Valuation ranges vs the offer price
Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.
TargetSpecial committee
Deal characteristics
- Category
- Take-private [4]
- Acquirer type
- Management (MBO)[5]
- Auction (chosen from several bidders)
- Not stated
- Competing proposal
- Not stated
- Special committee
- Yes[6]
- Valuer engaged by the special committee
- ベネディ・コンサルティング株式会社[7]
- Fairness opinion
- Not stated
Offer price negotiation
From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥1,875 to the offer price of ¥2,150: +14.7% (4 distinct proposed prices).
| Date | Proposed by | Price per share |
|---|---|---|
| 2021-10-04 | Acquirer | ¥1,875[8] |
| 2021-10-18 | Acquirer | ¥1,975[9] |
| — | Target / special committee (request) | ¥2,228[10] |
| 2021-10-27 | Acquirer | ¥2,000[11] |
| 2021-11-02 | Acquirer | ¥2,150[12] |
Offer terms
| Item | Value | History |
|---|---|---|
| Offer price per common share | ¥2,150 [1] | — |
| Offer period start | 2021-11-09 [13] | — |
| Offer period end | 2022-01-11 [13] | — |
| Offer period (business days) | 40 business days [13] | — |
| Minimum shares | 22,146,000 shares [14] | — |
| Shares tendered | 19,679,198 shares [15] | — |
| Result | Unsuccessful [3] | — |
| MBO | Yes [16] | — |
Premiums (as stated in filings)
| Basis | As of | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Closing price on the business day before announcement | 2021-11-05 | 17.4%[2] |
| 1-month simple average closing price | 2021-11-05 | 22.9%[17] |
| 3-month simple average closing price | 2021-11-05 | 32.8%[18] |
| 6-month simple average closing price | 2021-11-05 | 38.3%[19] |
Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).
Valuations
| Valuer | Engaged by | Method | Value per share | Discount rate | Perpetual growth rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KPMG FAS Co., Ltd. | Target | DCF method | Value per share ¥1,358 〜 ¥1,914[20] | Discount rate 3.3% 〜 8.9%[21] | Perpetual growth rate 0.0%[22] |
| KPMG FAS Co., Ltd. | Target | Market price method (市場株価平均法) | Value per share ¥1,555 〜 ¥1,831[23] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| KPMG FAS Co., Ltd. | Target | Other | Value per share ¥1,741 〜 ¥2,223[24] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Benedi Consulting Co., Ltd. | Special committee | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥1,530 〜 ¥1,798[25] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Benedi Consulting Co., Ltd. | Special committee | DCF method | Value per share ¥1,549 〜 ¥2,046[26] | Discount rate by business ↓ | Perpetual growth rate 0.0%[27] |
| └ Real estate business | — | Discount rate 3.2% 〜 4.2%[28] | Perpetual growth rate — | ||
| └ Pharmaceutical business | — | Discount rate 5.4% 〜 6.4%[29] | Perpetual growth rate — | ||
| └ Machinery-related business | — | Discount rate 6.1% 〜 7.1%[30] | Perpetual growth rate — | ||
| └ Textile business | — | Discount rate 5.5% 〜 6.5%[31] | Perpetual growth rate — | ||
| Benedi Consulting Co., Ltd. | Special committee | Market price method (市場株価基準方式) | Value per share ¥1,555 〜 ¥1,831[32] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
Timeline (filings)
| Filing | Date | Filer | docID |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2021-11-09 | Katakura Co., Ltd. | S100MR6P |
| Position Statement | 2021-11-09 | Katakura Industries Co.,Ltd. | S100MRCJ |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2021-11-19 | Katakura Co., Ltd. | S100MX34 |
| Amended Position Statement | 2021-11-19 | Katakura Industries Co.,Ltd. | S100MX38 |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2021-11-22 | Katakura Co., Ltd. | S100MXAY |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2021-12-21 | Katakura Co., Ltd. | S100N3QZ |
| Amended Position Statement | 2021-12-21 | Katakura Industries Co.,Ltd. | S100N3R2 |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2021-12-24 | Katakura Co., Ltd. | S100N4PO |
| Tender Offer Report | 2022-01-12 | Katakura Co., Ltd. | S100N7IL |
Sources
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100MR6P) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を2,150円として本公開買付けを実施することを決定し
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 同日の終値1,831円に対して17.42%
- Tender Offer Report (S100N7IL) 2022-01-12
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の数の合計(19,679,198株)が買付予定数の下限(22,146,000株)に満たなかったため
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 当社株式の全て(ただし、当社が所有する自己株式を除きます。)を取得し、当社株式を非公開化させ、当社の株主を公開買付者のみとするための一連の取引
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 本取引は、いわゆるマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)(以下「MBO」といいます。)に該当し、佐野氏及び上甲氏は、本取引後も継続して当社の経営にあたることを予定しているとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会は本特別委員会に付与された権限(権限の具体的な内容については、下記「(6) 本公開買付価格の公正性を担保するための措置及び利益相反を回避するための措置等、本公開買付けの公正性を担保するための措置」の「③ 当社における独立した特別委員会の設置及び特別委員会からの答申書の取得」をご参照ください。)に基づき
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付関連当事者から独立した独自のファイナンシャル・アドバイザー及び第三者算定機関としてベネディ・コンサルティング株式会社(以下「ベネディ・コンサルティング」といいます。)を選任いたしました。
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 2021年10月4日、当社に対し、デュー・ディリジェンスでの発見事項や当社株式の過去の株価推移に係る分析結果等を勘案し、本公開買付価格を1,875円とする初回提案を行ったとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2021年10月18日に、本公開買付価格を1,975円とする旨の再提案を書面にて行ったところ
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 当社及び本特別委員会が選任した各第三者算定機関による当社株式価値の試算並びに本特別委員会の意見を踏まえて、本公開買付価格を2,228円とする提案を書面にて行いました。
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2021年10月27日、当社に対し、1株あたり2,000円の公開買付価格を提案した。
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2021年11月2日、当社に対し、現時点で提示可能な最大限の価格であるとして1株あたり2,150円の公開買付価格を提案する
- Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100N3QZ) 2021-12-21
Original text (Japanese): 買付け等の期間 2021年11月9日(火曜日)から2022年1月11日(火曜日)まで(40営業日)
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100MR6P) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 買付予定数の下限を22,146,000株(所有割合:66.49%)に設定しており
- Tender Offer Report (S100N7IL) 2022-01-12
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の数の合計(19,679,198株)
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100MR6P) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 本取引は、いわゆるマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)(注4)(以下「MBO」といいます。)に該当し
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値1,750円に対して22.86%
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 当社株式の終値の単純平均値1,619円(小数点以下を四捨五入。以下、終値の単純平均値の計算において同じです。)に対して32.80%
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去6ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値1,555円に対して38.26%のプレミアム
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): DCF法: 1,358円~1,914円
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 割引率(加重平均資本コスト)については、株式価値評価実務において一般的に用いられているCAPM(資本資産価格モデル)理論に基づき分析を行っており、3.3%から8.9%を使用しております。
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率については0%を使用しております。
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価平均法:1,555円~1,831円
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): サムオブザパーツ法:1,741円~2,223円
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 類似企業比準方式:1,530円~1,798円
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): DCF方式: 1,549円~2,046円
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 継続価値の算定については永久成長率法を採用し、0%の永久成長率を採用しております。
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 不動産事業においては3.2%~4.2%
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 医薬品事業では5.4%~6.4%
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 機械関連事業では6.1%~7.1%
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 繊維事業では5.5%~6.5%
- Position Statement (S100MRCJ) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価基準方式:1,555円~1,831円