Tender offer · TOB · Closed
Tohoku Steel Co.,Ltd.5484
Acquirer: Daido Steel Co., Ltd. · Sector: Iron & Steel · Tender offer filing date: 2026-05-18 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)
Valuation ranges vs the offer price
Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.
AcquirerTarget
Deal characteristics
- Category
- Take-private [3]
- Acquirer type
- Parent / existing major shareholder[4]
- Auction (chosen from several bidders)
- Not stated
- Competing proposal
- Not stated
- Special committee
- Yes[6]
- Valuer engaged by the special committee
- Not stated
- Fairness opinion
- Not stated
Offer price negotiation
From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥4,000 to the offer price of ¥4,491: +12.3% (3 distinct proposed prices).
| Date | Proposed by | Price per share |
|---|---|---|
| 2025-08-06 | Acquirer | ¥4,000[7] |
| 2026-04-21 | Acquirer | ¥4,436[8] |
| 2026-04-30 | Acquirer | ¥4,491[9] |
| 2026-05-11 | Acquirer | ¥4,491[10] |
Offer terms
| Item | Value | History |
|---|---|---|
| Offer price per common share | ¥4,491 [1] | — |
Premiums (as stated in filings)
| Basis | As of | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Closing price on the business day before announcement | 2026-05-14 | 95.0%[2] |
| 1-month simple average closing price | 2026-05-14 | 97.9%[11] |
| 3-month simple average closing price | 2026-05-14 | 100.0%[12] |
| 6-month simple average closing price | 2026-05-14 | 105.7%[13] |
Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).
Valuations
| Valuer | Engaged by | Method | Value per share | Discount rate | Perpetual growth rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥2,923 〜 ¥3,640[14] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | DCF method | Value per share ¥3,354 〜 ¥4,549[15] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | Market price method (市場株価基準法) | Value per share ¥2,183 〜 ¥2,303[16] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Yamada Consulting Group Co., Ltd. | Target | DCF method | Value per share ¥3,890 〜 ¥4,654[17] | Discount rate by business ↓ | Perpetual growth rate 0.0% 〜 1.0%[18] |
| └ Special steel business | — | Discount rate 7.7% 〜 8.7%[19] | Perpetual growth rate — | ||
| └ Real estate leasing business | — | Discount rate 5.4% 〜 6.4%[20] | Perpetual growth rate — | ||
| Yamada Consulting Group Co., Ltd. | Target | Market price method (市場株価法) | Value per share ¥2,184 〜 ¥2,303[21] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
Timeline (filings)
| Filing | Date | Filer | docID |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2026-05-18 | Daido Steel Co., Ltd. | S100Y4OS |
| Position Statement | 2026-05-18 | Tohoku Steel Co.,Ltd. | S100Y4SF |
| Tender Offer Report | 2026-06-30 | Daido Steel Co., Ltd. | S100YNSH |
Sources
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100Y4OS) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を4,491円(本公開買付価格の詳細については、下記「② 買付け等の価格の算定の経緯及び基礎」をご参照ください。)として本公開買付けを実施することを決議いたしました。
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 2026年5月14日の東京証券取引所スタンダード市場における当社株式の終値2,303円に対して95.01%
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 本現物配当及び本スクイーズアウト手続後、本残存株式について、当社株式の上場廃止後の2026年10月上旬頃に本自己株式取得を実施し、当社の株主を公開買付者のみとすることを予定しているとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、当社の支配株主には該当しないものの、公開買付者が当社株式2,549,500株(所有割合:34.32%)を所有して当社を持分法適用関連会社とする、当社のその他の関係会社であること等を踏まえ
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 本取引に当たっては、市場における潜在的な買収者の有無を調査・検討する、いわゆる積極的なマーケット・チェックは実施されていない
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者及び当社並びに本取引の成否のいずれからも独立した特別委員会(以下「本特別委員会」といいます。)
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2025年8月6日、当社に対して本公開買付価格を4,000円
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 同月21日、当社に対して、本取引のストラクチャーについて、本自己株式取得の実施を予定していること、本自己株式取得に伴うみなし配当の益金不算入を踏まえた税効果を一般株主にも享受させる観点から、1株当たりの株式価値4,050円及び本公開買付価格を4,436円
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2026年4月30日、当社に対して、1株当たりの株式価値4,100円及び本公開買付価格を4,491円
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2026年5月11日、当社に対して、2026年5月7日付協議(光通信グループ)(以下で定義します。)を踏まえて、取引ストラクチャーの前提条件の一部を変更したうえで、1株あたり株式価値4,156円及び本公開買付価格を4,491円
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値2,269円に対して97.93%
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 同過去3ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値2,246円に対して99.96%
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 同過去6ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値2,183円に対して105.73%
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 類似企業比較法:2,923円から3,640円
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :3,354円から4,549円
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価基準法:2,183円から2,303円
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :3,890円から4,654円
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率を0.00%から1.00%として
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 特殊鋼事業では7.68%から8.68%
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 不動産賃貸事業では5.44%から6.44%
- Position Statement (S100Y4SF) 2026-05-18
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法:2,184円から2,303円