TOB WatchJAPAN TOB & MBO DISCLOSURE DATA 日本語

Tender offer · MBO · Closed

I-PEX Inc.6640

Acquirer: UDON Co., Ltd. · Sector: Electric Appliances · Tender offer filing date: 2024-11-08 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)

Successful[3]

Valuation ranges vs the offer price

Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.

Target
Daiwa Securities Comparable companies method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · Comparable companies method (Target): ¥1,381 〜 ¥2,993 DCF method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Target): ¥2,711 〜 ¥3,923 Market price method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Target): ¥1,564 〜 ¥1,828 Offer ¥2,950 1,5002,0002,5003,0003,5004,000

Deal characteristics

Category
Take-private [4]
Acquirer type
Management (MBO)[5]
Auction (chosen from several bidders)
Not stated
Competing proposal
Not stated
Special committee
Yes[7]
Valuer engaged by the special committee
Not stated
Fairness opinion
Not stated

Offer price negotiation

From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥2,750 to the offer price of ¥2,950: +7.3% (4 distinct proposed prices).

DateProposed byPrice per share
2024-10-31 Target / special committee (request) ¥3,050[8]
— Acquirer ¥2,750[9]
— Acquirer ¥2,850[10]
— Acquirer ¥2,900[11]
— Acquirer ¥2,950[12]
2024-11-01 Acquirer ¥2,950[13]

Offer terms

ItemValueHistory
Offer price per common share ¥2,950 [1] —
Minimum shares 5,042,000 shares [14] —
Shares tendered 9,580,247 shares [15] —
Result Successful [3] —
MBO Yes [16] —

Premiums (as stated in filings)

BasisAs ofValue
Closing price on the business day before announcement 2024-11-06 88.5%[2]
1-month simple average closing price 2024-11-06 88.6%[17]
3-month simple average closing price 2024-11-06 81.8%[18]
6-month simple average closing price 2024-11-06 61.4%[19]

Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).

Valuations

Valuer Engaged by Method Value per share Discount rate Perpetual growth rate
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target Comparable companies method Value per share ¥1,381 〜 ¥2,993[20] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target DCF method Value per share ¥2,711 〜 ¥3,923[21] Discount rate 7.3% 〜 8.6%[22] Perpetual growth rate 0.5% 〜 1.5%[23]
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥1,564 〜 ¥1,828[24] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —

Timeline (filings)

FilingDateFilerdocID
Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-11-08 UDON Co., Ltd. S100UO6K
Position Statement 2024-11-08 I-PEX Inc. S100UO9K
Tender Offer Report 2024-12-20 UDON Co., Ltd. S100UZFS

Sources

  1. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UO6K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を2,950円とし、本取引の一環として本公開買付けを実施することを決定しました。
  2. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年11月6日の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値1,565円に対して88.50%
  3. Tender Offer Report (S100UZFS) 2024-12-20
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の数の合計(9,580,247株)が買付予定数の下限(5,042,000株)以上となりましたので、本公開買付けに係る公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
  4. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者が本公開買付け及び本スクイーズアウト手続(以下に定義します。以下同じです。)を実施することにより当社が発行する普通株式(以下「当社株式」といいます。)が上場廃止となる予定であることを前提として行われたものです。
  5. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 本取引は、いわゆるマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)に該当し、創業者一族の1人であり当社の執行役員である小西達也氏及び創業者一族の1人であり当社の取締役である小西玲仁氏は当社の事業内容を熟知しており、本取引後も継続して当社の経営にあたり
  6. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会は、市場における潜在的な買収者の有無を調査・検討する、いわゆる積極的なマーケット・チェック(本取引の公表前における入札手続等を含みます。)については、情報管理の観点等から実務上の問題があることを踏まえ、本公開買付けを含む本取引の公正性を担保するために実施された各種措置の内容、その他本取引における具体的な状況に鑑みて、これを実施しなくとも特段、本取引の公正性が阻害されることはない旨の判断をしております。
  7. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年8月6日に、当社から、本特別委員会(下記「③ 当社が本公開買付けに賛同するに至った意思決定の過程及び理由」に定義します。以下同じです。)を設置し、本取引の実施に向けた協議・交渉に応じる旨の連絡を受けたとのことです。
  8. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2024年10月31日、本特別委員会より、当社の第三者算定機関による当社の株式価値の試算結果や当社の少数株主の利益保護の観点等を考慮して、本公開買付価格を3,050円とすることを検討するよう要請を受けたとのことです。
  9. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を2,750円とする初回提案を行ったとのことです。
  10. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を2,850円とする旨の再提案を行ったとのことです。
  11. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を2,900円とする旨の再提案を行ったとのことです。
  12. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を2,950円とする旨の最終提案を行ったとのことです。
  13. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年11月1日、本公開買付価格を前回提案価格と同額の2,950円
  14. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UO6K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、本公開買付けにおいて5,042,000株(所有割合:27.18%)を買付予定数の下限として設定しており
  15. Tender Offer Report (S100UZFS) 2024-12-20
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の数の合計(9,580,247株)が買付予定数の下限(5,042,000株)以上となりましたので
  16. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UO6K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 対象者は、本取引がマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)に該当し、構造的な利益相反の問題が存在するため
  17. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値1,564円に対して88.62%
  18. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去3ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値1,623円に対して81.76%
  19. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去6ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値1,828円に対して61.38%のプレミアムが加算されており
  20. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法:1,381円~2,993円
  21. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :2,711円~3,923円
  22. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 割引率は加重平均資本コスト(WACC:Weighted Average Cost of Capital)を採用し、7.25%~8.56%を使用しており
  23. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率を0.50%~1.50%として算定しております
  24. Position Statement (S100UO9K) 2024-11-08
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 :1,564円~1,828円