Tender offer · MBO · Closed
TOPCON CORPORATION7732
Acquirer: TK Co., Ltd. · Sector: Precision Instruments · Tender offer filing date: 2025-07-29 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)
¥3,300[1]
1
Valuation ranges vs the offer price
Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.
Target
Deal characteristics
- Category
- Take-private [4]
- Acquirer type
- Management (MBO)[5]
- Auction (chosen from several bidders)
- Yes[6]
- Competing proposal
- Not stated
- Special committee
- Yes[7]
- Valuer engaged by the special committee
- Not stated
- Fairness opinion
- Target, from JPモルガン証券株式会社[8]
Offer price negotiation
From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥3,000 to the offer price of ¥3,300: +10.0% (4 distinct proposed prices).
| Date | Proposed by | Price per share |
|---|---|---|
| 2024-09-13 | Acquirer | ¥3,000[9] |
| 2024-11-26 | Acquirer | ¥3,200[10] |
| 2025-01-06 | Acquirer | ¥3,800[11] |
| 2025-02-25 | Acquirer | ¥3,300[12] |
| 2025-02-28 | Acquirer | ¥3,300[13] |
Offer terms
| Item | Value | History |
|---|---|---|
| Offer price per common share | ¥3,300 [1] | — |
| Offer period start | 2025-07-29 [14] | — |
| Offer period end | 2025-09-10 [14] | — |
| Offer period (business days) | 31 business days [14] | — |
| Minimum shares | 52,861,519 shares [15] | — |
| Shares tendered | 84,748,472 shares [16] | — |
| Result | Successful [3] | — |
| MBO | Yes [17] | — |
Premiums (as stated in filings)
| Basis | As of | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Closing price on the business day before announcement | 2025-03-27 | 3.5%[2] |
| 1-month simple average closing price | 2025-03-27 | 14.2%[2] |
| 3-month simple average closing price | 2025-03-27 | 15.8%[2] |
| 6-month simple average closing price | 2025-03-27 | 42.3%[2] |
Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).
Valuations
| Valuer | Engaged by | Method | Value per share | Discount rate | Perpetual growth rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. | Target | DCF method | Value per share ¥2,790 〜 ¥3,512[18] | Discount rate by business ↓ | Perpetual growth rate by business ↓ |
| └ Positioning business | — | Discount rate 8.0% 〜 8.5%[19] | Perpetual growth rate 2.0% 〜 3.0%[20] | ||
| └ Eye care business | — | Discount rate 10.5% 〜 11.0%[19] | Perpetual growth rate 2.5% 〜 3.5%[20] | ||
| J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. | Target | Market price method (市場株価平均法) | Value per share ¥2,319 〜 ¥3,190[21] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
Timeline (filings)
| Filing | Date | Filer | docID |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2025-07-29 | TK Co., Ltd. | S100WFE7 |
| Position Statement | 2025-07-30 | TOPCON CORPORATION | S100WFFG |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2025-08-05 | TK Co., Ltd. | S100WGSY |
| Amended Position Statement | 2025-08-07 | TOPCON CORPORATION | S100WHCE |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2025-08-20 | TK Co., Ltd. | S100WKBW |
| Amended Position Statement | 2025-08-22 | TOPCON CORPORATION | S100WKH0 |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2025-08-27 | TK Co., Ltd. | S100WLOV |
| Amended Position Statement | 2025-08-28 | TOPCON CORPORATION | S100WLU7 |
| Tender Offer Report | 2025-09-11 | TK Co., Ltd. | S100WO9N |
Sources
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100WFE7) 2025-07-29
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を3,300円、本新株予約権買付価格を193,400円
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): 2025年3月27日の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値並びに直近1ヶ月(2025年2月28日から2025年3月27日まで)、直近3ヶ月(2024年12月28日から2025年3月27日まで)、及び直近6ヶ月(2024年9月28日から2025年3月27日まで)の終値の単純平均値(3,190.0円、2,891円、2,850円及び2,319円。)に対していずれもプレミアム(3.45%、14.15%、15.79%及び42.30%)が付与されている
- Tender Offer Report (S100WO9N) 2025-09-11
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(84,748,472株)が買付予定数の下限(52,861,519株)以上となりましたので
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けがマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)の一環として行われるものであり、構造的な利益相反の問題が存在すること及びスクイーズ・アウトを伴う取引であること等に鑑み
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): 仮に当社を非公開化する場合には、江藤氏が非公開化後も公開買付者と利益を共通にし、一定期間引き続き経営に関与するマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)が有力な選択肢であるとの考えに至り
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): KKRを含む国内外において豊富な実績を有する3社の投資ファンド(以下、総称して「本候補者」といいます。)を招聘した入札手続(以下「非公開化プロセス」といいます。)の実施を決定し、当該プロセスを開始いたしました。
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): 戦略特別委員会(以下「本戦略特別委員会」といいます。)を設置することを決議いたしました。
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): 当社は、2025年3月28日付けでJPモルガン証券より、本公開買付価格が、当該前提条件のもと、当社の普通株主(公開買付者、公開買付者親会社、KKR及びそれらの関係者を除きます。)にとって財務的見地から公正である旨の本フェアネス・オピニオンを取得いたしました。
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): KKRは非公開化プロセス9月13日付提案書において、当社株式1株当たり3,000円を公開買付価格とし
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): KKRは非公開化プロセス11月26日付提案書において、当社株式1株当たり3,200円を公開買付価格とし
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): KKRは非公開化プロセス1月6日付提案書において、当社株式1株当たり3,800円を公開買付価格とし
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): KKRは非公開化プロセス2月25日付提案書において、当社株式1株当たり3,100~3,300円を公開買付価格とし
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): KKRは非公開化プロセス2月28日付提案書において、当社株式1株当たり3,300円を公開買付価格とし
- Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100WLOV) 2025-08-27
Original text (Japanese): 買付け等の期間 2025年7月29日(火曜日)から2025年9月10日(水曜日)まで(31営業日)
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100WFE7) 2025-07-29
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、本公開買付けにおいて52,861,519株(所有割合:50.10%)を買付予定数の下限として設定しており
- Tender Offer Report (S100WO9N) 2025-09-11
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(84,748,472株)が買付予定数の下限(52,861,519株)以上となりました
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100WFE7) 2025-07-29
Original text (Japanese): なお、以上より、本取引は、いわゆるマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)(注8)に該当いたします。
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): DCF法:2,790円~3,512円
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): その範囲としてポジショニング事業では8.0%~8.5%、アイケア事業では10.5%~11.0%を採用しております。
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率をポジショニング事業では2.0%~3.0%、アイケア事業では2.5%~3.5%としております。
- Position Statement (S100WFFG) 2025-07-30
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価平均法:2,319円~3,190.0円