Tender offer · TOB · Closed
DESCENTE,LTD.8114
Acquirer: BS Investment Co., Ltd. · Sector: Textiles & Apparels · Tender offer filing date: 2024-10-01 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)
¥4,350[1]
3
Valuation ranges vs the offer price
Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.
AcquirerTargetSpecial committee
Deal characteristics
- Category
- Take-private [4]
- Acquirer type
- Parent / existing major shareholder[5]
- Auction (chosen from several bidders)
- Not stated
- Competing proposal
- Not stated
- Special committee
- Yes[6]
- Valuer engaged by the special committee
- 株式会社プルータス・コンサルティング[7]
- Fairness opinion
- Special committee, from 株式会社プルータス・コンサルティング[8]; Special committee, from 株式会社プルータス・コンサルティング[8]
Offer price negotiation
From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥3,600 to the offer price of ¥4,350: +20.8% (8 distinct proposed prices).
| Date | Proposed by | Price per share |
|---|---|---|
| 2024-07-09 | Target / special committee (request) | ¥4,800[9] |
| — | Target / special committee (request) | ¥4,600[10] |
| — | Target / special committee (request) | ¥4,400[11] |
| 2024-06-17 | Acquirer | ¥3,600[12] |
| 2024-06-27 | Acquirer | ¥3,800[13] |
| 2024-07-02 | Acquirer | ¥3,900[14] |
| 2024-07-11 | Acquirer | ¥4,000[15] |
| 2024-07-16 | Acquirer | ¥4,050[16] |
| 2024-07-25 | Acquirer | ¥4,180[17] |
| 2024-07-31 | Acquirer | ¥4,300[18] |
| — | Acquirer | ¥4,350[19] |
Offer terms
| Item | Value | History |
|---|---|---|
| Offer price per common share | ¥4,350 [1] | — |
| Offer period end | 2024-11-13 [20] | — |
| Offer period (business days) | 30 business days [20] | — |
| Minimum shares | 16,793,700 shares [21] | — |
| Shares tendered | 31,341,290 shares [22] | — |
| Result | Successful [3] | — |
Premiums (as stated in filings)
| Basis | As of | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Closing price on the business day before announcement | 2024-08-02 | 16.6%[2] |
| 1-month simple average closing price | 2024-08-02 | 14.0%[23] |
| 3-month simple average closing price | 2024-08-02 | 22.0%[24] |
| 6-month simple average closing price | 2024-08-02 | 25.4%[25] |
Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).
Valuations
| Valuer | Engaged by | Method | Value per share | Discount rate | Perpetual growth rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥3,211 〜 ¥3,985[26] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | DCF method | Value per share ¥3,589 〜 ¥4,607[27] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | Market price method (市場株価平均法) | Value per share ¥3,469 〜 ¥3,930[28] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | DCF method | Value per share ¥3,373 〜 ¥4,851[29] | Discount rate by business ↓ | Perpetual growth rate by business ↓ |
| └ Target's consolidated business | — | Discount rate 8.2% 〜 10.2%[30] | Perpetual growth rate 1.0% 〜 2.0%[31] | ||
| └ China equity-method business | — | Discount rate 11.1% 〜 13.1%[32] | Perpetual growth rate 4.5% 〜 5.5%[33] | ||
| Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | Market price method (市場株価法) | Value per share ¥3,469 〜 ¥3,817[34] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Plutus Consulting Co., Ltd. | Special committee | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥3,244 〜 ¥3,394[35] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Plutus Consulting Co., Ltd. | Special committee | DCF method | Value per share ¥3,594 〜 ¥5,353[36] | Discount rate 9.8% 〜 13.8%[37] | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Plutus Consulting Co., Ltd. | Special committee | Market price method (市場株価法) | Value per share ¥3,469 〜 ¥3,817[38] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
Timeline (filings)
| Filing | Date | Filer | docID |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-10-01 | BS Investment Co., Ltd. | S100UGQI |
| Position Statement | 2024-10-01 | DESCENTE,LTD. | S100UGR4 |
| Tender Offer Report | 2024-10-30 | BS Investment Co., Ltd. | S100ULSJ |
Sources
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UGQI) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 最終的に2024年8月5日、本公開買付価格を4,350円とすることを決定いたしました。
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 2024年8月2日の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値3,730円に対して16.62%のプレミアムを加えた価格
- Tender Offer Report (S100ULSJ) 2024-10-30
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(31,341,290株)が買付予定数の下限(16,793,700株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 当社の株主を公開買付者のみとし、当社株式を非公開化することを目的とする一連の取引
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 当社が伊藤忠商事の持分法適用関連会社でありながら上場を維持する現状は、当社の一般株主と伊藤忠商事の間で利益相反が生じるリスク等の構造的な課題を有しており
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会は、下記「(6)本公開買付価格の公正性を担保するための措置及び利益相反を回避するための措置等、本公開買付けの公正性を担保するための措置」の「④ 特別委員会における独立した第三者算定機関からの株式価値算定書及びフェアネス・オピニオンの取得」及び「⑤ 特別委員会における独立した法律事務所からの助言」に記載のとおり、本特別委員会に付与された権限に基づき、2024年4月18日、独自のリーガル・アドバイザーとしてアンダーソン・毛利・友常法律事務所外国法共同事業(以下「アンダーソン・毛利・友常法律事務所」といいます。)を、独自のファイナンシャル・アドバイザー及び第三者算定機関として株式会社プルータス・コンサルティング(以下「プルータス・コンサルティング」といいます。)をそれぞれ選任する旨を決定しております。
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 独自のファイナンシャル・アドバイザー及び第三者算定機関として株式会社プルータス・コンサルティング(以下「プルータス・コンサルティング」といいます。)をそれぞれ選任する旨を決定しております。
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会が、プルータス・コンサルティングより2024年8月2日付で取得した当社株式の株式価値に関する算定書(以下「本株式価値算定書(プルータス・コンサルティング)」といいます。)及び本公開買付価格である1株当たり4,350円が、当社の一般株主にとって、財務的見地から公正である旨のフェアネス・オピニオン
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 当社の直近業績や当社の同日株価終値と類似取引におけるプレミアム水準等を踏まえて、本公開買付価格を4,800円近辺とすることについて検討を要請する書面を受領したとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会委員長である吉岡浩一氏及び当社の本取引に係る交渉担当役員である嶋田剛氏と面会し、本公開買付価格を4,600円とするよう検討を行うことを直接口頭で要請されたとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 最終提案とされる4,300円を更に引き上げ、本公開買付価格を4,400円とすることについて検討を要請する書面を受領したとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 2024年6月17日、本公開買付価格を3,600円
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 同月27日、伊藤忠商事は当社に対し、本公開買付価格を3,800円
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 2024年7月2日、伊藤忠商事は当社に対し、本公開買付価格を3,900円
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を4,000円(同日の前営業日時点の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の株価終値3,770円に対して6.10%のプレミアム
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 同月16日、伊藤忠商事は当社に対し、本公開買付価格を4,050円
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 同月25日、伊藤忠商事は当社に対し、本公開買付価格を4,180円
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 同月31日、伊藤忠商事は当社に対し、本公開買付価格4,300円
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 第7回目提案書において最終提案とした4,300円を更に引き上げ、本公開買付価格4,350円
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UGQI) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付期間は30営業日、2024年11月13日(水曜日)までとなります。
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UGQI) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 買付予定数の下限を16,793,700株(所有割合:22.22%)としており
- Tender Offer Report (S100ULSJ) 2024-10-30
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(31,341,290株)
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 直近1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値3,817円に対して13.96%のプレミアムを加えた価格
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 直近3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値3,567円に対して21.95%のプレミアムを加えた価格
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 直近6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値3,469円に対して25.40%のプレミアムを加えた価格
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法 :3,211円から3,985円
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :3,589円から4,607円
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価平均法 :3,469円から3,930円
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :3,373円から4,851円
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 割引率は、当社連結事業につき8.17%~10.17%を採用しており
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率は、当社連結事業につき1.0%~2.0%とし
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 中国持分法事業につき11.10%~13.10%を採用しております
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 中国持分法事業につき4.5%~5.5%として算定しております
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 :3,469円から3,817円
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法 :3,244円から3,394円
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :3,594円から5,353円
- Position Statement (S100UGR4) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 割引率は、9.8%~ 13.8%を採用しており
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UGQI) 2024-10-01
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 :3,469円から3,817円