Tender offer · TOB · Closed
JAPAN FOODS CO.,LTD.2599
Acquirer: JAF Holdings Co., Ltd. · Sector: Foods · Tender offer filing date: 2024-05-13 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)
1
Valuation ranges vs the offer price
Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.
Target
Deal characteristics
- Category
- Take-private [4]
- Acquirer type
- Financial sponsor[5]
- Auction (chosen from several bidders)
- Not stated
- Competing proposal
- Not stated
- Special committee
- Yes[6]
- Valuer engaged by the special committee
- Not stated
- Fairness opinion
- Not stated
Offer price negotiation
From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥1,610 to the offer price of ¥2,449: +52.1% (4 distinct proposed prices).
| Date | Proposed by | Price per share |
|---|---|---|
| 2024-04-10 | Acquirer | ¥1,610[7] |
| 2024-04-17 | Acquirer | ¥1,780[8] |
| 2024-04-25 | Acquirer | ¥1,860[9] |
| 2024-05-01 | Acquirer | ¥1,860[10] |
| 2024-05-07 | Acquirer | ¥1,994[11] |
| 2024-05-09 | Acquirer | ¥1,994[12] |
Offer terms
| Item | Value | History |
|---|---|---|
| Offer price per common share | ¥2,449 [1] | ¥1,994[13] → ¥2,449[1] |
| Offer period start | 2024-05-13 [14] | — |
| Offer period end | 2024-07-08 [14] | — |
| Offer period (business days) | 41 business days [14] | — |
| Minimum shares | 1,459,800 shares [15] | — |
| Shares tendered | 2,518,204 shares [16] | — |
| Result | Successful [3] | — |
Premiums (as stated in filings)
| Basis | As of | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Closing price on the business day before announcement | 2024-05-09 | 75.1%[2] |
| 1-month simple average closing price | 2024-05-09 | 75.8%[17] |
| 3-month simple average closing price | 2024-05-09 | 72.1%[18] |
| 6-month simple average closing price | 2024-05-09 | 83.2%[19] |
Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).
Valuations
| Valuer | Engaged by | Method | Value per share | Discount rate | Perpetual growth rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CPA Partners Co., Ltd. | Target | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥1,452 〜 ¥1,550[20] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| CPA Partners Co., Ltd. | Target | DCF method | Value per share ¥1,638 〜 ¥2,198[21] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| CPA Partners Co., Ltd. | Target | Market price method (市場株価基準法) | Value per share ¥1,337 〜 ¥1,423[22] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
Revisions and inconsistencies
- Revised:
tob_terms:tender_priceS100TEQ5: 1994.0 → S100TOTH: 2449.0
Timeline (filings)
| Filing | Date | Filer | docID |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-05-13 | JAF Holdings Co., Ltd. | S100TEQ5 |
| Position Statement | 2024-05-13 | JAPAN FOODS CO.,LTD. | S100TEW8 |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-06-20 | JAF Holdings Co., Ltd. | S100TOTH |
| Amended Position Statement | 2024-06-20 | JAPAN FOODS CO.,LTD. | S100TOWJ |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-06-24 | JAF Holdings Co., Ltd. | S100TR8Z |
| Tender Offer Report | 2024-07-09 | JAF Holdings Co., Ltd. | S100U0S4 |
Sources
- Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100TOTH) 2024-06-20
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を1株当たり2,449円とすることを決定いたしました
- Amended Position Statement (S100TOWJ) 2024-06-20
Original text (Japanese): 終値1,399円に対して75.05%
- Tender Offer Report (S100U0S4) 2024-07-09
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(2,518,204株)が買付予定数の下限(1,459,800株)以上となりましたので
- Position Statement (S100TEW8) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): また、公開買付者としては、当社株式を非公開化することを目的として本公開買付けを実施することから、当社の株主の皆様には本公開買付けに応募していただくことを想定しているとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100TEW8) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): アイ・シグマ・キャピタルは、2000年9月に総合商社である丸紅の100%出資により設立され、プライベートエクイティ投資等及びその関連業務全般を行っているとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100TEW8) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): 本取引に関する提案を検討するために当社の諮問機関として、2023年10月13日開催の当社取締役会決議により、特別委員会(以下「本特別委員会」といいます。
- Position Statement (S100TEW8) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): アイ・シグマ・キャピタルは、2024年4月10日に、本公開買付価格を1,610円(当該提案日の前営業日である2024年4月9日の当社株式の終値である1,415円に対して13.78%(小数点以下第三位を四捨五入。以下、プレミアム率及びディスカウント率の計算において同じです。)とすることを含む本公開買付けの条件等に関する提案書(以下「2024年4月10日付提案書」といいます。)を当社に提示したとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100TEW8) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): 2024年4月17日、アイ・シグマ・キャピタルは当社に対して、本公開買付価格を1,780円(当該提案日の前営業日である2024年4月16日の当社株式の終値である1,401円に対して27.05%)とする提案を当社に行いました
- Position Statement (S100TEW8) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): 2024年4月25日、アイ・シグマ・キャピタルは当社に対して、本公開買付価格を1,860円(当該提案日の前営業日である2024年4月24日の当社株式の終値である1,414円に対して31.54%)とする提案を当社に行いました
- Position Statement (S100TEW8) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): 2024年5月1日に当社に対して、本公開買付価格を1,860円(当該提案日の前営業日である2024年4月30日の当社株式の終値である1,373円に対して35.47%)とすることを再度提案したとのことですが
- Position Statement (S100TEW8) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): 2024年5月7日、当社に対して、前回提案価格から引き上げた本公開買付価格を1,994円(当該提案日の前営業日である2024年5月2日の当社株式の終値である1,359円に対して46.73%)とすることを再度提案したとのことですが
- Position Statement (S100TEW8) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): 2024年5月9日、当社に対して、本公開買付価格を前回答と同額の1,994円(当該提案日の前営業日である2024年5月8日の当社株式の終値である1,361円に対して46.51%)とすることを再度提案し、アイ・シグマ・キャピタル及び当社は、2024年5月9日、本公開買付価格を1株当たり1,994円とすることで合意にいたりました
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100TEQ5) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を1株当たり1,994円とすることを決定いたしました。
- Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100TOTH) 2024-06-20
Original text (Japanese): 買付け等の期間 2024年5月13日(月曜日)から2024年7月8日(月曜日)まで(41営業日)
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100TEQ5) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、本公開買付けにおける買付予定数の下限を1,459,800株(所有割合:30.27%)と設定しており
- Tender Offer Report (S100U0S4) 2024-07-09
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(2,518,204株)
- Amended Position Statement (S100TOWJ) 2024-06-20
Original text (Japanese): 過去1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,393円に対して75.81%
- Amended Position Statement (S100TOWJ) 2024-06-20
Original text (Japanese): 過去3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,423円に対して72.10%
- Amended Position Statement (S100TOWJ) 2024-06-20
Original text (Japanese): 過去6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,337円に対して83.17%
- Position Statement (S100TEW8) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比準法(参考):1,452円~1,550円
- Position Statement (S100TEW8) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :1,638円~2,198円
- Position Statement (S100TEW8) 2024-05-13
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価基準法 :1,337円~1,423円