TOB WatchJAPAN TOB & MBO DISCLOSURE DATA 日本語

Tender offer · TOB · Closed

TCS Inc.3316

Acquirer: Canon Marketing Japan Inc. · Sector: Wholesale Trade · Tender offer filing date: 2023-08-10 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)

Successful[3]

Valuation ranges vs the offer price

Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.

AcquirerTarget
Daiwa Securities Comparable companies method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · Comparable companies method (Acquirer): ¥1,001 〜 ¥1,224 DCF method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Acquirer): ¥1,627 〜 ¥1,892 Market price method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Acquirer): ¥715 〜 ¥880 Tokyo Kyodo Accounting Office Comparable companies method Tokyo Kyodo Accounting Office · Comparable companies method (Target): ¥1,262 〜 ¥1,437 DCF method Tokyo Kyodo Accounting Office · DCF method (Target): ¥1,314 〜 ¥1,724 Market price method Tokyo Kyodo Accounting Office · Market price method (Target): ¥715 〜 ¥875 Offer ¥1,748 7501,0001,2501,5001,750

Deal characteristics

Category
Take-private [4]
Acquirer type
Strategic buyer[5]
Auction (chosen from several bidders)
Yes[6]
Competing proposal
Not stated
Special committee
Yes[7]
Valuer engaged by the special committee
Not stated
Fairness opinion
Not stated

Offer price negotiation

From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥1,748 to the offer price of ¥1,748: 0.0% (1 distinct proposed prices).

DateProposed byPrice per share
2023-06-13 Acquirer ¥1,748[8]
2023-08-01 Acquirer ¥1,748[9]
— Target / special committee (request) ¥1,748[10]

Offer terms

ItemValueHistory
Offer price per common share ¥1,748 [1] —
Minimum shares 4,193,200 shares [11] —
Shares tendered 5,863,642 shares [12] —
Result Successful [3] —

Premiums (as stated in filings)

BasisAs ofValue
Closing price on the business day before announcement 2023-08-08 98.6%[2]
1-month simple average closing price 2023-08-08 99.8%[13]
3-month simple average closing price 2023-08-08 124.7%[14]
6-month simple average closing price 2023-08-08 144.5%[15]

Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).

Valuations

Valuer Engaged by Method Value per share Discount rate Perpetual growth rate
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer Comparable companies method Value per share ¥1,001 〜 ¥1,224[16] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer DCF method Value per share ¥1,627 〜 ¥1,892[17] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥715 〜 ¥880[18] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Tokyo Kyodo Accounting Office Target Comparable companies method Value per share ¥1,262 〜 ¥1,437[19] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Tokyo Kyodo Accounting Office Target DCF method Value per share ¥1,314 〜 ¥1,724[20] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Tokyo Kyodo Accounting Office Target Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥715 〜 ¥875[21] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —

Timeline (filings)

FilingDateFilerdocID
Tender Offer Registration Statement 2023-08-10 Canon Marketing Japan Inc. S100RNZY
Position Statement 2023-08-10 TCS Inc. S100RO74
Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement 2023-08-29 Canon Marketing Japan Inc. S100RRVA
Tender Offer Report 2023-09-26 Canon Marketing Japan Inc. S100RWT3

Sources

  1. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100RNZY) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を1株当たり1,748円とすることを含めた本応募契約について合意に至り
  2. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年8月8日の東京証券取引所スタンダード市場における当社株式の終値880円に対して98.64%のプレミアムを加えた価格
  3. Tender Offer Report (S100RWT3) 2023-09-26
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数( 5,863,642 株)が買付予定数の下限(4,193,200株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書(その後提出された公開買付届出書の訂正届出書により訂正された事項を含みます。)に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
  4. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 当社を公開買付者の完全子会社とすることを目的とする取引(以下「本取引」といいます。)の一環として、本公開買付けを実施することを決議したとのことです。
  5. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 本書提出日現在、公開買付者は当社株式1株(所有割合(注):0.00%)を所有しているとのことです。
  6. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 日産東京販売ホールディングスは、2022年11月上旬より、三菱UFJ銀行を通じて当社の成長を促進し得る補完的な強みを持つ候補先等で、当社の事業に強い興味を持つと考えられる45社(国内事業会社37社及び投資ファンド8社)の候補先に対して、日産東京販売ホールディングスが保有する当社株式の譲渡、またこれに伴う当社の今後の更なる成長を実現させるための戦略的パートナー選定に関する入札プロセス(以下「本入札プロセス」といいます。)への参加について、日産東京販売ホールディングス及び当社の名称を明らかにしない状態による打診を開始したとのことです。
  7. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年1月31日、本特別委員会を設置することを決定しました。
  8. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2023年6月13日付の取締役会決議を経て、同日付で日産東京販売ホールディングスに対して、本公開買付けを実施した場合における本公開買付価格等の諸条件について、公開買付者において2023年3月下旬から同年6月上旬まで実施した当社に対するデュー・ディリジェンスを踏まえた法的拘束力のある提案として、(ⅰ)当社の発行する全株式を対象とした完全子会社化を企図した公開買付けを実施し、(ⅱ)本公開買付価格を当社株式1株当たり1,748円(提案実施日の前営業日である同月12日の終値728円に対して140.11%(小数点以下第三位四捨五入。以下、株価に対するプレミアムの数値(%)において同じです。)、直近1ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値700円(小数点以下四捨五入。以下、終値株価の単純平均値(円)において同じです。)に対して149.71%、直近3ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値664円に対して163.25%、直近6ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値641円に対して172.70%のプレミアム)とする第二次意向表明書及び本応募契約のドラフトの修正案を提出したとのことです。
  9. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2023年8月1日に大和証券を通じて、本特別委員会に対し、当該回答に対する返答として、7月4日付提案価格の1,748円は、本件が入札手続を通じた買付者選定プロセスであることに鑑み、公開買付者として最大限の提案をしており、公開買付者としても、株主を中心とするステークホルダーに対する説明責任を果たす必要があることから、7月4日付提案価格から引き上げることについては検討していない旨の回答を書面でしたとのことです。
  10. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): (ⅱ)本公開買付価格1,748円について、当社の第三者算定機関による株式価値の試算結果を勘案し、少数株主保護の観点から一定程度評価できる水準にあると認識しているものの、当社の少数株主の皆様により一層ご満足いただくために、本公開買付価格の引き上げが可能か検討いただきたい旨の本提案書に対する回答を書面で提出しました。
  11. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100RNZY) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、本公開買付けにおいて4,193,200株(所有割合:66.67%)を買付予定数の下限として設定しており
  12. Tender Offer Report (S100RWT3) 2023-09-26
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数( 5,863,642 株)が買付予定数の下限(4,193,200株)以上となりましたので
  13. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 直近1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値875円に対して99.77%のプレミアムを加えた価格
  14. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 直近3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値778円に対して124.68%のプレミアムを加えた価格
  15. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 直近6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値715円に対して144.48%のプレミアムを加えた価格
  16. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法 :1,001円から1,224円
  17. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :1,627円から1,892円
  18. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 :715円から880円
  19. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 類似上場会社比較法 :1,262円から1,437円
  20. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :1,314円から1,724円
  21. Position Statement (S100RO74) 2023-08-10
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 :715円から875円