Tender offer · TOB · Closed
Edge Technology Co., Ltd.4268
Acquirer: The Chiba Bank, Ltd. · Sector: Information & Communication · Tender offer filing date: 2024-09-09 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)
2
Valuation ranges vs the offer price
Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.
AcquirerTarget
Deal characteristics
- Category
- Take-private [4]
- Acquirer type
- Strategic buyer[5]
- Auction (chosen from several bidders)
- Yes[6]
- Competing proposal
- Not stated
- Special committee
- Yes[7]
- Valuer engaged by the special committee
- Not stated
- Fairness opinion
- Not stated
Offer price negotiation
From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥707 to the offer price of ¥841: +18.9% (2 distinct proposed prices).
| Date | Proposed by | Price per share |
|---|---|---|
| 2024-06-21 | Acquirer | ¥707[8] |
| 2024-08-05 | Acquirer | ¥841[9] |
| 2024-08-09 | Acquirer | ¥841[10] |
Offer terms
| Item | Value | History |
|---|---|---|
| Offer price per common share | ¥841 [1] | — |
| Minimum shares | 7,190,600 shares [11] | — |
| Shares tendered | 10,300,198 shares [12] | — |
| Result | Successful [3] | — |
Premiums (as stated in filings)
| Basis | As of | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Closing price on the business day before announcement | 2024-09-05 | 59.0%[2] |
| 1-month simple average closing price | 2024-09-05 | 53.5%[13] |
| 3-month simple average closing price | 2024-09-05 | 48.1%[14] |
| 6-month simple average closing price | 2024-09-05 | 41.8%[15] |
Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).
Valuations
| Valuer | Engaged by | Method | Value per share | Discount rate | Perpetual growth rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | DCF method | Value per share ¥727 〜 ¥1,146[16] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | Market price method (市場株価平均法) | Value per share ¥529 〜 ¥593[17] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥337 〜 ¥673[18] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | DCF method | Value per share ¥640 〜 ¥988[19] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | Market price method (市場株価法) | Value per share ¥529 〜 ¥593[20] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
Timeline (filings)
| Filing | Date | Filer | docID |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-09-09 | The Chiba Bank, Ltd. | S100UCFG |
| Position Statement | 2024-09-09 | Edge Technology Co., Ltd. | S100UCG5 |
| Tender Offer Report | 2024-10-24 | The Chiba Bank, Ltd. | S100UKT0 |
Sources
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UCFG) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 2024年9月6日開催の取締役会において、本公開買付価格を841円、及び本新株予約権買付価格を1円として本公開買付けを実施することを決議いたしました。
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 2024年9月5日の東京証券取引所グロース市場における当社株式の終値529円に対して58.98%
- Tender Offer Report (S100UKT0) 2024-10-24
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(10,300,198株)が買付予定数の下限(7,190,600株)以上となりましたので、本公開買付けに係る公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、上記シナジー等の実現を図るためには、公開買付者と当社が資本面で提携することが合理的な戦略であり、公開買付者による当社の完全子会社化が両社の企業価値の向上に資すると考えたとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 当社の成長を促進し得る補完的な強みを持つと考えられる候補者を6社(事業会社(金融業を行う者を含みます。以下同じです。)6社)選定し
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 当社は、当社の成長を促進し得る補完的な強みを持つと考えられる候補者を6社(事業会社(金融業を行う者を含みます。以下同じです。)6社)選定し、金融機関を通じて、住本氏が保有する当社株式の譲渡、また、これに伴う当社の更なる成長を実現させるためのパートナー選定(以下「本選定プロセス」といいます。)に係る1次選定プロセスに関する初期的な打診を開始し(打診先による当社株式の譲受割合については打診先が任意に希望を示す形としております。)、その結果、2023年12月中旬から2024年1月中旬にかけて公開買付者を含む2社の候補者から意向表明書を受領しました。
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 当社は、公開買付者を含む本選定プロセスにおける意向表明書を提出した候補者及び住本氏から独立した立場で本取引に係る検討・交渉等を含む本選定プロセスにおける検討・交渉等を行うための特別委員会(以下「本特別委員会」といいます。
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2024年6月21日に、当社及び住本氏に対して、当社株式に対する公開買付けを通じて当社を完全子会社化することを前提に、当社株式1株当たりの買付け等の価格を707円(以下「当初提案価格」といいます。)とする旨を含む2次意向表明書を提出したとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、当社からのかかる要請について慎重に検討の上、2024年8月5日、本公開買付価格を841円とする旨をみずほ証券を通じて当社及び本特別委員会に伝達したとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、再検討を行い、2024年8月9日、2024年8月5日付の提案価格は公開買付者として熟考を重ねた上での価格であり、更なる提案価格の引上げは難しいものとして、再度、本公開買付価格を841円とする旨の提案をみずほ証券を通じて当社及び本特別委員会に伝達したとのことです。
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UCFG) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、本公開買付けにおいて7,190,600株(所有割合66.67%)を買付予定数の下限として設定しており
- Tender Offer Report (S100UKT0) 2024-10-24
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(10,300,198株)
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値548円に対して53.47%
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値568円に対して48.06%
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値593円に対して41.82%のプレミアムをそれぞれ加えた価格となるとのことです
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :727円から1,146円
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価平均法 :529円から593円
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法 :337円から673円
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :640円から988円
- Position Statement (S100UCG5) 2024-09-09
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 :529円から593円