TOB WatchJAPAN TOB & MBO DISCLOSURE DATA 日本語

Tender offer · MBO · Closed

Payroll Inc.4489

Acquirer: TA Associates Japan No.1 Co., Ltd. · Sector: Services · Tender offer filing date: 2024-01-25 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)

Successful[3]

Valuation ranges vs the offer price

Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.

Target
PwC Advisory DCF method PwC Advisory LLC · DCF method (Target): ¥1,280 〜 ¥1,655 Market price method PwC Advisory LLC · Market price method (Target): ¥913 〜 ¥1,023 Offer ¥1,380 1,0001,2001,4001,600

Deal characteristics

Category
Take-private [4]
Acquirer type
Management (MBO)[5]
Auction (chosen from several bidders)
Not stated
Competing proposal
Not stated
Special committee
Yes[7]
Valuer engaged by the special committee
Not stated
Fairness opinion
Not stated

Offer price negotiation

From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥1,100 to the offer price of ¥1,380: +25.4% (3 distinct proposed prices).

DateProposed byPrice per share
2023-12-11 Acquirer ¥1,100[8]
2023-12-18 Acquirer ¥1,200[9]
2024-01-18 Acquirer ¥1,380[10]

Offer terms

ItemValueHistory
Offer price per common share ¥1,380 [1] —
Minimum shares 10,554,900 shares [11] 11,275,800 shares[12] → 10,554,900 shares[11]
Shares tendered 16,168,610 shares [13] —
Result Successful [3] —
MBO Yes [14] —

Premiums (as stated in filings)

BasisAs ofValue
Closing price on the business day before announcement 2024-01-23 42.4%[2]
1-month simple average closing price 2024-01-23 51.2%[15]
3-month simple average closing price 2024-01-23 42.3%[16]
6-month simple average closing price 2024-01-23 34.9%[17]

Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).

Valuations

Valuer Engaged by Method Value per share Discount rate Perpetual growth rate
PwC Advisory LLC Target DCF method Value per share ¥1,280 〜 ¥1,655[18] Discount rate 6.9% 〜 7.9%[19] Perpetual growth rate 1.0% 〜 1.5%[20]
PwC Advisory LLC Target Market price method (市場株価基準方式) Value per share ¥913 〜 ¥1,023[21] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —

Revisions and inconsistencies

Timeline (filings)

FilingDateFilerdocID
Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-01-25 TA Associates Japan No.1 Co., Ltd. S100SO8Y
Position Statement 2024-01-25 Payroll Inc. S100SO9G
Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-02-09 TA Associates Japan No.1 Co., Ltd. S100STJN
Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-02-22 TA Associates Japan No.1 Co., Ltd. S100SY5I
Amended Position Statement 2024-02-22 Payroll Inc. S100SY4R
Tender Offer Report 2024-03-12 TA Associates Japan No.1 Co., Ltd. S100T1FR

Sources

  1. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SO8Y) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格1,380円は、公開買付者が本公開買付けの開始を決定した日の前営業日である2024年1月23日の東京証券取引所グロース市場における対象者株式の終値969円に対して42.41%
  2. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けの公表日の前営業日である2024年1月23日の東京証券取引所グロース市場における当社株式の終値969円に対して42.41%
  3. Tender Offer Report (S100T1FR) 2024-03-12
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(16,168,610株)が買付予定数の下限(10,554,900株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書(その後の公開買付条件等の変更の公告及び公開買付届出書の訂正届出書により訂正された事項を含みます。)に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
  4. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): 湯浅氏は、その時点で初めて、速やかに当社を非公開化することで、経営の自由度の確保及びノウハウの外部導入を進めることを検討するに至ったとのことです。
  5. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): いわゆるマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)(注2)に該当いたします。
  6. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会は、市場における潜在的な買収者の有無を調査・検討する、いわゆる積極的なマーケット・チェック(本取引の公表前における入札手続等を含みます。)については…これを実施しなくとも特段、本取引の公正性が阻害されることはない旨を判断しております。
  7. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年11月6日に開催した当社取締役会において、本取引の提案を検討するための特別委員会(以下「本特別委員会」といいます。
  8. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): TAは、2023年12月11日、上記デュー・ディリジェンスの結果等を踏まえ、当社に対し、本公開買付けにおける当社株式1株当たりの買付け等の価格(以下「本公開買付価格」といいます。)を1,100円
  9. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): TAは、2023年12月18日付で、本公開買付価格を1,200円
  10. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): TAは、2024年1月18日付で、本公開買付価格を1,380円
  11. Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SY5I) 2024-02-22
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けにおいては、公開買付者は、 10,554,900株(所有割合:57.36%)を買付予定数の下限と設定しており
  12. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SO8Y) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): 11,275,800株(所有割合:61.28%)を買付予定数の下限と設定しており
  13. Tender Offer Report (S100T1FR) 2024-03-12
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(16,168,610株)が買付予定数の下限(10,554,900株)以上となりました
  14. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SO8Y) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): いわゆるマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)(注2)に該当いたします。
  15. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値913円に対して51.15%
  16. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去3ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値970円に対して42.27%
  17. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去6ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値1,023円に対して34.90%
  18. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): DCF方式 :1,280円から1,655円
  19. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): 6.9%~7.9%の割引率(加重平均資本コスト)を採用しております。
  20. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率は1.0%~1.5%としております。
  21. Position Statement (S100SO9G) 2024-01-25
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価基準方式:913円から1,023円