Tender offer · MBO · Closed
TAISHO PHARMACEUTICAL HOLDINGS CO., LTD.4581
Acquirer: Otemon Co., Ltd. · Sector: Pharmaceutical · Tender offer filing date: 2023-11-27 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)
¥8,620[1]
1
Valuation ranges vs the offer price
Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.
Target
Deal characteristics
- Category
- Take-private [4]
- Acquirer type
- Management (MBO)[5]
- Auction (chosen from several bidders)
- Not stated
- Competing proposal
- Not stated
- Special committee
- Yes[6]
- Valuer engaged by the special committee
- Not stated
- Fairness opinion
- Not stated
Offer price negotiation
From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥7,400 to the offer price of ¥8,620: +16.5% (6 distinct proposed prices).
| Date | Proposed by | Price per share |
|---|---|---|
| 2023-11-15 | Target / special committee (request) | ¥8,900[7] |
| — | Acquirer | ¥7,400[8] |
| 2023-10-30 | Acquirer | ¥7,600[9] |
| 2023-11-02 | Acquirer | ¥7,800[10] |
| — | Acquirer | ¥8,050[11] |
| — | Acquirer | ¥8,450[12] |
| 2023-11-21 | Acquirer | ¥8,620[13] |
Offer terms
| Item | Value | History |
|---|---|---|
| Offer price per common share | ¥8,620 [1] | — |
| Minimum shares | 54,650,900 shares [14] | — |
| Shares tendered | 60,034,194 shares [15] | — |
| Result | Successful [3] | — |
| MBO | Yes [16] | — |
Premiums (as stated in filings)
| Basis | As of | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Closing price on the business day before announcement | 2023-11-22 | 56.3%[2] |
| 1-month simple average closing price | 2023-11-22 | 49.4%[17] |
| 3-month simple average closing price | 2023-11-22 | 44.3%[18] |
| 6-month simple average closing price | 2023-11-22 | 50.4%[19] |
Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).
Valuations
| Valuer | Engaged by | Method | Value per share | Discount rate | Perpetual growth rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | DCF method | Value per share ¥8,117 〜 ¥9,594[20] | Discount rate by business ↓ | Perpetual growth rate by business ↓ |
| └ Japan | — | Discount rate 6.5% 〜 7.5%[21] | Perpetual growth rate 0.0% 〜 1.0%[22] | ||
| └ UPSA (France business) | — | Discount rate 9.2% 〜 11.2%[23] | Perpetual growth rate 1.0% 〜 2.0%[24] | ||
| └ UPSA (non-France business) | — | Discount rate 13.2% 〜 15.2%[25] | Perpetual growth rate 1.5% 〜 2.5%[26] | ||
| └ Hauzan Pharmaceutical | — | Discount rate 12.5% 〜 14.5%[27] | Perpetual growth rate 2.5% 〜 3.5%[28] | ||
| └ Other overseas businesses | — | Discount rate 8.1% 〜 10.1%[29] | Perpetual growth rate 1.0% 〜 2.0%[30] | ||
| Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | Market price method (市場株価法) | Value per share ¥5,515 〜 ¥5,974[31] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
Timeline (filings)
| Filing | Date | Filer | docID |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2023-11-27 | Otemon Co., Ltd. | S100SCY9 |
| Position Statement | 2023-11-27 | TAISHO PHARMACEUTICAL HOLDINGS CO., LTD. | S100SCYT |
| Tender Offer Report | 2024-01-16 | Otemon Co., Ltd. | S100SMW0 |
Sources
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SCY9) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格8,620円は、本公開買付けの実施についての公表日の前営業日である2023年11月22日の対象者株式の東京証券取引所スタンダード市場における終値5,515円に対して56.30%
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けの公表日の前営業日である2023年11月22日の当社株式の東京証券取引所スタンダード市場における終値5,515円に対して56.30%
- Tender Offer Report (S100SMW0) 2024-01-16
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(60,034,194株)が買付予定数の下限(54,650,900株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 当社株式を非公開化することを目的とした取引(以下「本取引」といいます。)の一環として、本公開買付けを実施することを2023年11月24日に決定したとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 本取引は、いわゆるマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)(注3)に該当し
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 2023年9月15日開催の取締役会において、本取引の提案を検討するための本特別委員会を設置しました。
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): これに対し、提案者は当社から、2023年11月15日、近年のMBO案件のプレミアム水準や、大和証券による当社の株式価値の試算結果等を勘案し、本公開買付価格を8,900円とすることに加え、マジョリティ・オブ・マイノリティ条件の設定に関する提案者の考えを説明することを要請する旨の回答書を受領しました。
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 当初、提案者からは、当社株式1株当たり7,400円との公開買付価格が提示されたところ
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 提案者は、2023年10月30日、本公開買付価格を7,600円
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 2023年11月2日、提案者は、本公開買付価格を7,800円
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を8,050円
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格の提案価格を引き上げ、本公開買付価格を8,450円
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 2023年11月21日、提案者は、当社取締役会の意見を最大限尊重し、改めて当社の財務状況等を十分に考慮し議論を重ねるとともに当社の2024年3月期の期末配当金額相当分も考慮した最終提案として、本公開買付価格を8,620円
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SCY9) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 買付予定数の下限を54,650,900株(所有割合:66.57%)に設定しており
- Tender Offer Report (S100SMW0) 2024-01-16
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(60,034,194株)
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SCY9) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 本取引は、いわゆるマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)(注3)に該当し
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間(2023年10月23日から同年11月22日まで)の終値単純平均値5,770円に対して49.39%
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 同過去3ヶ月間(2023年8月23日から同年11月22日まで)の終値単純平均値5,974円に対して44.29%
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 同過去6ヶ月間(2023年5月23日から同年11月22日まで)の終値単純平均値5,732円に対して50.38%
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :8,117円~9,594円
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 日本:6.5%~7.5%
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率を日本:0.0%~1.0%
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): UPSA(フランス事業):9.2%~11.2%
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): UPSA(フランス事業):1.0%~2.0%
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): UPSA(フランス国外事業):13.2%~15.2%
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): UPSA(フランス国外事業):1.5%~2.5%
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): :12.5%~14.5%
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): ハウザン製薬:2.5%~3.5%
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): その他海外事業:8.1%~10.1%
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): その他海外事業:1.0%~2.0%として算定しております
- Position Statement (S100SCYT) 2023-11-27
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 :5,515円~5,974円