Tender offer · TOB · Closed
FANCL CORPORATION4921
Acquirer: Kirin Holdings Company, Limited · Sector: Chemicals · Tender offer filing date: 2024-06-17 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)
3
Valuation ranges vs the offer price
Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.
AcquirerTargetSpecial committee
Deal characteristics
- Category
- Take-private [4]
- Acquirer type
- Strategic buyer[5]
- Auction (chosen from several bidders)
- Not stated
- Competing proposal
- Not stated
- Special committee
- Yes[6]
- Valuer engaged by the special committee
- 株式会社プルータス・コンサルティング[7]
- Fairness opinion
- Not stated
Offer price negotiation
From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥2,300 to the offer price of ¥2,800: +21.7% (5 distinct proposed prices).
| Date | Proposed by | Price per share |
|---|---|---|
| 2024-05-08 | Target / special committee (request) | ¥2,500[8] |
| 2024-05-09 | Acquirer | ¥2,300[9] |
| 2024-05-21 | Acquirer | ¥2,450[10] |
| 2024-05-29 | Acquirer | ¥2,550[11] |
| 2024-06-04 | Acquirer | ¥2,585[12] |
| 2024-06-12 | Acquirer | ¥2,690[13] |
Offer terms
| Item | Value | History |
|---|---|---|
| Offer price per common share | ¥2,800 [1] | ¥2,690[14] → ¥2,800[1] |
| Offer period start | 2024-06-17 [15] | — |
| Offer period end | 2024-09-11 [16] | 2024-08-13[15] → 2024-08-28[17] → 2024-09-11[16] |
| Offer period (business days) | 61 business days [16] | 40 business days[15] → 51 business days[17] → 61 business days[16] |
| Minimum shares | 41,117,700 shares [18] | — |
| Shares tendered | 51,946,863 shares [19] | — |
| Result | Successful [3] | — |
Premiums (as stated in filings)
| Basis | As of | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Closing price on the business day before announcement | 2024-06-13 | 48.6%[2] |
| 1-month simple average closing price | 2024-06-13 | 41.8%[20] |
| 3-month simple average closing price | 2024-06-13 | 42.8%[21] |
| 6-month simple average closing price | 2024-06-13 | 33.4%[22] |
Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).
Valuations
| Valuer | Engaged by | Method | Value per share | Discount rate | Perpetual growth rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥1,571 〜 ¥2,075[23] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | DCF method | Value per share ¥2,391 〜 ¥3,529[24] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | Market price method (市場株価平均法) | Value per share ¥1,884.5 〜 ¥2,099[25] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| UBS Securities Japan Co., Ltd. | Target | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥1,915 〜 ¥2,598[26] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| UBS Securities Japan Co., Ltd. | Target | DCF method | Value per share ¥2,356 〜 ¥3,205[27] | Discount rate 7.0% 〜 7.5%[28] | Perpetual growth rate 1.5% 〜 2.0%[28] |
| UBS Securities Japan Co., Ltd. | Target | Market price method (市場株価平均法) | Value per share ¥1,884.5 〜 ¥2,099[29] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Plutus Consulting Co., Ltd. | Special committee | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥1,953 〜 ¥2,171[30] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Plutus Consulting Co., Ltd. | Special committee | DCF method | Value per share ¥2,149 〜 ¥3,067[31] | Discount rate 6.1% 〜 7.0%[32] | Perpetual growth rate 0.0%[33] |
| Plutus Consulting Co., Ltd. | Special committee | Market price method (市場株価法) | Value per share ¥1,884.5 〜 ¥2,099[34] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
Revisions and inconsistencies
- Revised:
tob_terms:tender_priceS100U4E3: 2690.0 → S100U65C: 2800.0 - Revised:
tob_terms:period_endS100U4E3: 2024-08-13 → S100U65C: 2024-08-28 - Revised:
tob_terms:period_endS100U65C: 2024-08-28 → S100UABH: 2024-09-11 - Revised:
tob_terms:period_business_daysS100U4E3: 40.0 → S100U65C: 51.0 - Revised:
tob_terms:period_business_daysS100U65C: 51.0 → S100UABH: 61.0
Timeline (filings)
| Filing | Date | Filer | docID |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-06-17 | Kirin Holdings Company, Limited | S100TMRX |
| Position Statement | 2024-06-17 | FANCL CORPORATION | S100TMVJ |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-06-24 | Kirin Holdings Company, Limited | S100TRC2 |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-06-26 | Kirin Holdings Company, Limited | S100TUUE |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-07-29 | Kirin Holdings Company, Limited | S100U4E3 |
| Amended Position Statement | 2024-07-29 | FANCL CORPORATION | S100U4EN |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-08-07 | Kirin Holdings Company, Limited | S100U65C |
| Amended Position Statement | 2024-08-07 | FANCL CORPORATION | S100U6FA |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-08-28 | Kirin Holdings Company, Limited | S100UABH |
| Amended Position Statement | 2024-08-28 | FANCL CORPORATION | S100UAKJ |
| Tender Offer Report | 2024-09-12 | Kirin Holdings Company, Limited | S100UD6T |
Sources
- Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100U65C) 2024-08-07
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けにおける買付け等の価格(以下「本公開買付価格」といいます。)を対象者株式1株当たり2,690円から2,800円に変更する
- Amended Position Statement (S100UAKJ) 2024-08-28
Original text (Japanese): 終値1,884.5円に対して48.58%
- Tender Offer Report (S100UD6T) 2024-09-12
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(51,946,863株)が買付予定数の下限(41,117,700株)以上となりましたので
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けにおいて、公開買付者は、当社の完全子会社化を企図しているため、買付予定数の下限を41,117,700株(所有割合:33.82%に設定しており
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は1907年2月に麒麟麦酒株式会社として設立され、同年7月に東京証券取引所に上場しているとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 2024年2月22日開催の当社取締役会における決議により本特別委員会(下記「③ 当社が本公開買付けに賛同するに至った意思決定の過程及び理由」において定義します。以下同じです。)を設置し、本特別委員会に対し、本取引における手続の公正性、取引条件の妥当性等について諮問いたしました
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者及び当社から独立した本特別委員会独自の第三者算定機関として株式会社プルータス・コンサルティング(以下「プルータス」といいます。)を
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会は、2024年5月8日開催の第7回特別委員会において、当社が公開買付者から受領する公開買付価格の初回提案が2,500円を下回るような水準である場合には
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 2024年5月9日に、本公開買付けにおける買付け等の価格として、当社株式1株当たりの買付け等の価格(以下「本公開買付価格」といいます。)を2,300円
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 2024年5月21日に、本公開買付価格を2,450円
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 2024年5月29日に、本公開買付価格を2,550円
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 2024年6月4日に、本公開買付価格を2,585円
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 2024年6月12日に、本公開買付価格を2,690円
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100TMRX) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 取締役会決議により本公開買付価格を1株当たり2,690円と決定いたしました
- Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100U4E3) 2024-07-29
Original text (Japanese): 買付け等の期間 2024年6月17日(月曜日)から2024年8月13日(火曜日)まで(40営業日)
- Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UABH) 2024-08-28
Original text (Japanese): 買付け等の期間 2024年6月17日(月曜日)から2024年9月11日(水曜日)まで(61営業日)
- Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100U65C) 2024-08-07
Original text (Japanese): 買付け等の期間 2024年6月17日(月曜日)から2024年8月28日(水曜日)まで(51営業日)
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100TMRX) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 41,117,700株(所有割合:33.82%)(注3)を買付予定数の下限として設定しており
- Tender Offer Report (S100UD6T) 2024-09-12
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(51,946,863株)が買付予定数の下限(41,117,700株)以上となりました
- Amended Position Statement (S100UAKJ) 2024-08-28
Original text (Japanese): 同日までの直近1か月間の終値単純平均値1,974 円(小数点以下を四捨五入。以下、終値単純平均値の計算において同じです。)に対して41.84%のプレミアム
- Amended Position Statement (S100UAKJ) 2024-08-28
Original text (Japanese): 同日までの直近3か月間の終値単純平均値1,961円に対して42.78%のプレミアム
- Amended Position Statement (S100UAKJ) 2024-08-28
Original text (Japanese): 同日までの直近6か月間の終値単純平均値2,099円に対して33.40%のプレミアム
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法: 1,571円から2,075円
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 : 2,391円から3,529円
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価平均法: 1,884.5円から2,099円
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 類似企業比較法: 1,915円~2,598円
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): DCF法: 2,356円~3,205円
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): なお、割引率は7.0%~7.5%を採用し、継続価値の算定にあたっては、永久成長率法及び倍率法を採用し、永久成長率は1.5%~2.0%
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価平均法: 1,884.5円~2,099円
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法: 1,953円から2,171円
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): DCF法: 2,149円から3,067円
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): なお、割引率は加重平均資本コストとし、6.1%~7.0%を採用しております。
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率は0%
- Position Statement (S100TMVJ) 2024-06-17
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法: 1,884.5円から2,099円