Tender offer · TOB · Closed
Toho Metal Co., Ltd.5781
Acquirer: Taiyo Koko Co., Ltd. · Sector: — · Tender offer filing date: 2024-01-31 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)
¥1,885[1]
1
Valuation ranges vs the offer price
Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.
Target
Deal characteristics
- Category
- Take-private [4]
- Acquirer type
- Parent / existing major shareholder[5]
- Auction (chosen from several bidders)
- Not stated
- Competing proposal
- Not stated
- Special committee
- Yes[6]
- Valuer engaged by the special committee
- Not stated
- Fairness opinion
- Not stated
Offer price negotiation
From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥1,570 to the offer price of ¥1,885: +20.1% (5 distinct proposed prices).
| Date | Proposed by | Price per share |
|---|---|---|
| — | Acquirer | ¥1,570[7] |
| — | Acquirer | ¥1,670[8] |
| — | Acquirer | ¥1,750[9] |
| — | Acquirer | ¥1,880[10] |
| — | Acquirer | ¥1,885[11] |
Offer terms
| Item | Value | History |
|---|---|---|
| Offer price per common share | ¥1,885 [1] | — |
| Minimum shares | 818,700 shares [12] | — |
| Shares tendered | 1,429,575 shares [13] | — |
| Result | Successful [3] | — |
Premiums (as stated in filings)
| Basis | As of | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Closing price on the business day before announcement | 2024-01-29 | 50.3%[2] |
| 1-month simple average closing price | 2024-01-29 | 54.0%[14] |
| 3-month simple average closing price | 2024-01-29 | 50.7%[15] |
| 6-month simple average closing price | 2024-01-29 | 40.6%[16] |
Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).
Valuations
| Valuer | Engaged by | Method | Value per share | Discount rate | Perpetual growth rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | DCF method | Value per share ¥1,745 〜 ¥2,738[17] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | Market price method (市場株価基準法) | Value per share ¥1,224 〜 ¥1,341[18] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
Timeline (filings)
| Filing | Date | Filer | docID |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-01-31 | Taiyo Koko Co., Ltd. | S100SPAO |
| Position Statement | 2024-01-31 | Toho Metal Co., Ltd. | S100SPAQ |
| Tender Offer Report | 2024-03-15 | Taiyo Koko Co., Ltd. | S100T2GA |
Sources
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SPAO) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を1,885円とし、本取引の一環として本公開買付けを実施することを決議いたしました。
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 東京証券取引所スタンダード市場における当社株式の基準日の終値1,254円に対して50.32%
- Tender Offer Report (S100T2GA) 2024-03-15
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(1,429,575株)が買付予定数の下限(818,700株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 上場廃止により、当社は、資本市場からエクイティ・ファイナンスによる資金調達を行うことができなくなり、また、上場会社であることに伴う社会的な信用の獲得といったこれまで上場会社として享受してきたメリットを得られなくなります。
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者が当社の主要株主である筆頭株主及びその他の関係会社に該当すること、当社の役員に公開買付者の役員を兼任する者がいること等を考慮し
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 当社の社外取締役である飯島宗文氏、社外監査役である大谷泰史氏及び外部有識者である三谷革司氏(弁護士・スパークル法律事務所)の3名によって構成される、公開買付者及び当社のいずれからも独立した特別委員会(以下「本特別委員会」といいます。)を設置いたしました
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を1,570円(提案実施日の前営業日である2023年12月22日の当社株式の終値1,207円に対して30.07%
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を1,670円(以下「第2回提案価格」といいます。)とする提案を実施したとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を1,750円(以下「第3回提案価格」といいます。)とする提案を実施したとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を1,880円(以下「第4回提案価格」といいます。)とする提案を実施したとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を1,885円とする最終提案を実施したとのことです。
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SPAO) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数が買付予定数の下限(818,700株)に満たない場合は、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行いません。
- Tender Offer Report (S100T2GA) 2024-03-15
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(1,429,575株)
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 基準日までの直近1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,224円に対して54.00%
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 同直近3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,251円に対して50.68%
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 同直近6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,341円に対して40.57%のプレミアム
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 : 1,745円から2,738円
- Position Statement (S100SPAQ) 2024-01-31
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価基準法 : 1,224円から1,341円