Tender offer · MBO · Closed
Roland DG Corporation6789
Acquirer: XYZ Co., Ltd. · Sector: Electric Appliances · Tender offer filing date: 2024-02-13 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)
1
Valuation ranges vs the offer price
Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.
Target
Deal characteristics
- Category
- Take-private [4]
- Acquirer type
- Management (MBO)[5]
- Auction (chosen from several bidders)
- Yes[6]
- Competing proposal
- Yes[7]
- Special committee
- Yes[8]
- Valuer engaged by the special committee
- Not stated
- Fairness opinion
- Not stated
Offer price negotiation
From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥5,035 to the offer price of ¥5,370: +6.7% (1 distinct proposed prices).
| Date | Proposed by | Price per share |
|---|---|---|
| 2023-12-20 | Acquirer | ¥5,035[9] |
Offer terms
| Item | Value | History |
|---|---|---|
| Offer price per common share | ¥5,370 [1] | ¥5,035[10] → ¥5,370[1] |
| Offer period start | 2024-02-13 [11] | — |
| Offer period end | 2024-05-15 [12] | 2024-04-12[11] → 2024-04-26[13] → 2024-05-15[12] |
| Offer period (business days) | 62 business days [12] | 30 business days[14] → 42 business days[11] → 52 business days[13] → 62 business days[12] |
| Minimum shares | 8,151,100 shares [15] | — |
| Shares tendered | 9,247,711 shares [16] | — |
| Result | Successful [3] | — |
| MBO | Yes [17] | — |
Premiums (as stated in filings)
| Basis | As of | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Closing price on the business day before announcement | 2024-02-08 | 29.3%[2] |
| 1-month simple average closing price | 2024-02-08 | 32.9%[18] |
| 3-month simple average closing price | 2024-02-08 | 37.0%[19] |
| 6-month simple average closing price | 2024-02-08 | 42.6%[20] |
Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).
Valuations
| Valuer | Engaged by | Method | Value per share | Discount rate | Perpetual growth rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥3,415 〜 ¥4,308[21] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | DCF method | Value per share ¥2,884 〜 ¥6,849[22] | Discount rate 6.5% 〜 7.0%[23] | Perpetual growth rate 1.3% 〜 1.8%[24] |
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | Market price method (市場株価平均法) | Value per share ¥3,532 〜 ¥3,922[25] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
Revisions and inconsistencies
- Revised:
tob_terms:tender_priceS100T5FB: 5035.0 → S100TC7R: 5370.0 - Revised:
tob_terms:period_business_daysS100SUV5: 30.0 → S100T5FB: 42.0 - Revised:
tob_terms:period_business_daysS100T5FB: 42.0 → S100T9JU: 52.0 - Revised:
tob_terms:period_business_daysS100T9JU: 52.0 → S100TC7R: 62.0 - Revised:
tob_terms:period_endS100T5FB: 2024-04-12 → S100T9JU: 2024-04-26 - Revised:
tob_terms:period_endS100T9JU: 2024-04-26 → S100TC7R: 2024-05-15
Timeline (filings)
| Filing | Date | Filer | docID |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-02-13 | XYZ Co., Ltd. | S100SUV5 |
| Position Statement | 2024-02-13 | Roland DG Corporation | S100SVIY |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-03-07 | XYZ Co., Ltd. | S100T0LE |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-03-08 | XYZ Co., Ltd. | S100T0S7 |
| Amended Position Statement | 2024-03-27 | Roland DG Corporation | S100T4XS |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-03-27 | XYZ Co., Ltd. | S100T5FB |
| Amended Position Statement | 2024-03-28 | Roland DG Corporation | S100T5PF |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-03-29 | XYZ Co., Ltd. | S100T6W2 |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-04-12 | XYZ Co., Ltd. | S100T9JU |
| Amended Position Statement | 2024-04-12 | Roland DG Corporation | S100T9M7 |
| Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2024-04-26 | XYZ Co., Ltd. | S100TC7R |
| Amended Position Statement | 2024-04-30 | Roland DG Corporation | S100TCGC |
| Tender Offer Report | 2024-05-16 | XYZ Co., Ltd. | S100TG9H |
Sources
- Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100TC7R) 2024-04-26
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2024年4月26日、本公開買付価格を5,035円から5,370円に変更すること(以下「本買付条件等変更」といいます。)を決定し
- Amended Position Statement (S100TCGC) 2024-04-30
Original text (Japanese): 公表日前営業日である2024年2月8日の当社株式の東京証券取引所プライム市場における終値3,895円に対して29.27%
- Tender Offer Report (S100TG9H) 2024-05-16
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(9,247,711株)が買付予定数の下限(8,151,100株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書(その後訂正された公開買付届出書の訂正届出書により訂正された事項を含みます。)に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
- Position Statement (S100SVIY) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けは当社株式の非公開化を目的としているとのことで、本公開買付けにおいて買付予定数の上限は設けておらず
- Position Statement (S100SVIY) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): タイヨウ・パシフィック・パートナーズが他の候補先(アライアンス候補先Aを除きます。)と比較して、提案価格及び本取引成立に向けた蓋然性、中長期での企業価値向上を見据えた戦略・施策のいずれの観点からも優れていると考え、2023年12月21日、マネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)の手法により当社株式の非公開化を行うタイヨウ提案が当社の中長期的なさらなる成長及び企業価値向上の実現に貢献するという考えに至りました。
- Position Statement (S100SVIY) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): アライアンス候補先A以外の候補先として野村證券の助言を踏まえ選定したタイヨウ・パシフィック・パートナーズ及びPEファンド2社に対しアライアンスの可能性についてヒアリングを行い、前向きな回答が得られた場合には入札手続(以下「本入札手続」といいます。)を実施することを決定いたしました。
- Position Statement (S100SVIY) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): 当社は、2023年9月1日に公開買付者以外の事業会社(以下「アライアンス候補先A」といいます。)から書面にて当社取締役会宛に当社株式の100%の取得を意図した、法的拘束力を有しない意向表明書(以下「アライアンス提案A」といいます。)を受領いたしました。
- Position Statement (S100SVIY) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): 当社取締役会は、本特別委員会の設置に当たり、本取引に関する当社取締役会の意思決定は、本特別委員会の判断内容を最大限尊重して行われるものとし
- Position Statement (S100SVIY) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): 2023年12月20日、当社に対して、タイヨウ提案において、本公開買付価格を5,035円
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SUV5) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2024年2月9日、本公開買付価格を5,035円とし、本取引の一環として本公開買付けを開始することを決定いたしました。
- Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100T5FB) 2024-03-27
Original text (Japanese): 買付け等の期間 2024年2月13日(火曜日)から2024年4月12日(金曜日)まで(42営業日)
- Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100TC7R) 2024-04-26
Original text (Japanese): 買付け等の期間 2024年2月13日(火曜日)から2024年5月15日(水曜日)まで(62営業日)
- Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100T9JU) 2024-04-12
Original text (Japanese): 買付け等の期間 2024年2月13日(火曜日)から2024年4月26日(金曜日)まで(52営業日)
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SUV5) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付期間を、法令に定められた最短期間が20営業日であるところ、30営業日に設定していること
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SUV5) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、買付予定数の下限を8,151,100株(所有割合:66.16%)に設定しており
- Tender Offer Report (S100TG9H) 2024-05-16
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(9,247,711株)
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SUV5) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): いわゆるマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)(注3)のための一連の取引(以下「本取引」といいます。)の一環として、本公開買付けを実施することを決定いたしました。
- Amended Position Statement (S100TCGC) 2024-04-30
Original text (Japanese): 直近1ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値3,790円に対して32.85%
- Amended Position Statement (S100TCGC) 2024-04-30
Original text (Japanese): 直近3ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値3,676円に対して36.97%
- Amended Position Statement (S100TCGC) 2024-04-30
Original text (Japanese): 直近6ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値3,532円に対して42.55%
- Position Statement (S100SVIY) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): 当社株式の1株当たり株式価値の範囲は、3,415円から4,308円と算定しております。
- Position Statement (S100SVIY) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): 1株当たりの株式価値の範囲を2,884円から6,849円と算定しております。
- Position Statement (S100SVIY) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): 割引率(加重平均資本コスト)は6.50%から7.00%を採用しており
- Position Statement (S100SVIY) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率は1.25%から1.75%
- Position Statement (S100SVIY) 2024-02-13
Original text (Japanese): 当社株式の1株当たりの株式価値の範囲は、3,532円から3,922円と算定しております。