TOB WatchJAPAN TOB & MBO DISCLOSURE DATA 日本語

Tender offer · TOB · Closed

The Furukawa Battery Co.,Ltd.6937

Acquirer: AP78 Co., Ltd. · Sector: Electric Appliances · Tender offer filing date: 2025-08-08 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)

Successful[3]

Valuation ranges vs the offer price

Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.

TargetSpecial committee
PwC Advisory Comparable companies method PwC Advisory LLC · Comparable companies method (Target): ¥1,110 〜 ¥1,223 DCF method PwC Advisory LLC · DCF method (Target): ¥1,243 〜 ¥1,522 Market price method PwC Advisory LLC · Market price method (Target): ¥1,083 〜 ¥1,258 Plutus Consulting DCF method Plutus Consulting Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Special committee): ¥1,106 〜 ¥1,615 Market price method Plutus Consulting Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Special committee): ¥1,083 〜 ¥1,258 Offer ¥1,400 1,1001,2001,3001,4001,5001,600

Deal characteristics

Category
Take-private [4]
Acquirer type
Parent / existing major shareholder[5]
Auction (chosen from several bidders)
Not stated
Competing proposal
Not stated
Special committee
Yes[6]
Valuer engaged by the special committee
株式会社プルータス・コンサルティング[7]
Fairness opinion
Not stated

Offer price negotiation

From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥1,120 to the offer price of ¥1,400: +25.0% (4 distinct proposed prices).

DateProposed byPrice per share
2024-02-22 Acquirer ¥1,120[8]
2024-04-08 Acquirer ¥1,120[9]
2024-05-23 Acquirer ¥1,200[10]
2024-06-05 Acquirer ¥1,250[11]
2024-06-20 Acquirer ¥1,400[12]

Offer terms

ItemValueHistory
Offer price per common share ¥1,400 [1] —
Minimum shares 3,070,500 shares [13] —
Shares tendered 10,864,468 shares [14] —
Result Successful [3] —

Premiums (as stated in filings)

BasisAs ofValue
Closing price on the business day before announcement 2024-07-22 20.8%[2]
1-month simple average closing price 2024-07-22 11.3%[15]
3-month simple average closing price 2024-07-22 18.0%[16]
6-month simple average closing price 2024-07-22 29.3%[17]

Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).

Valuations

Valuer Engaged by Method Value per share Discount rate Perpetual growth rate
PwC Advisory LLC Target Comparable companies method Value per share ¥1,110 〜 ¥1,223[18] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
PwC Advisory LLC Target DCF method Value per share ¥1,243 〜 ¥1,522[19] Discount rate 7.8% 〜 8.8%[20] Perpetual growth rate 1.3% 〜 1.8%[21]
PwC Advisory LLC Target Market price method (市場株価基準方式) Value per share ¥1,083 〜 ¥1,258[22] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Plutus Consulting Co., Ltd. Special committee DCF method Value per share ¥1,106 〜 ¥1,615[23] Discount rate 6.2% 〜 8.9%[24] Perpetual growth rate 0.0%[25]
Plutus Consulting Co., Ltd. Special committee Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥1,083 〜 ¥1,258[26] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —

Timeline (filings)

FilingDateFilerdocID
Tender Offer Registration Statement 2025-08-08 AP78 Co., Ltd. S100WI29
Position Statement 2025-08-08 The Furukawa Battery Co.,Ltd. S100WI3H
Tender Offer Report 2025-09-09 AP78 Co., Ltd. S100WNXC

Sources

  1. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100WI29) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格である1,400円は、本公開買付けの開始予定の公表日(2024年7月23日)の前営業日である2024年7月22日の対象者株式の東京証券取引所プライム市場における終値1,159円に対して20.79%
  2. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年7月22日の当社株式の東京証券取引所プライム市場における終値1,159円に対して20.79%
  3. Tender Offer Report (S100WNXC) 2025-09-09
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の数の合計(10,864,468株)が買付予定数の下限(3,070,500株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
  4. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): なお、本取引の実施後、当社は上場廃止となる予定であることから、非公開化により
  5. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 当社は、2020年10月上旬、当社の支配株主(親会社)である古河電気工業より、同社と当社の親子上場関係の解消に向け、古河電気工業並びにAP及びTCによる当社株式を非公開化することに関する初期的な打診を受けました。
  6. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 当社は、当該打診の内容に鑑み、当社の資本政策に関する意思決定の恣意性を排除し、当社の意思決定過程の公正性、透明性及び客観性を確保し、利益相反を回避するために、2020年10月下旬開催の当社取締役会の決議により、当社社外取締役(独立役員)である飯村北氏及び佐藤達郎氏並びに当社社外監査役(独立役員)である小川幸伸氏の3名により構成される本特別委員会を設置いたしました。
  7. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会は、2022年9月上旬、公開買付者ら、古河電気工業及び当社並びに本取引の成否のいずれからも独立した本特別委員会独自の第三者算定機関として株式会社プルータス・コンサルティング(以下「プルータス」といいます。)を選任する旨を決定しました。
  8. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年2月22日、当社が2024年3月期に係る期末配当(以下「本期末配当」といいます。)を含めその後の配当支払いを行わないこと、本取引の検討及び経済条件に悪影響を及ぼすような追加的な検出事項がないこと等を条件として、当社に対して本公開買付価格を1,120円
  9. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年4月8日に、本特別委員会に対して、当該時点において当社が本期末配当の配当予想額として公表していた1株あたり21円の配当金支払いが実施される前提に見直した上で、本公開買付価格を1,120円
  10. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年5月23日に、本特別委員会に対して、本期末配当の実施を前提に本公開買付価格を1,200円
  11. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年6月5日に、本特別委員会に対して、本公開買付価格を1,250円
  12. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者親会社は、2024年6月20日に、本公開買付価格を1,400円
  13. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100WI29) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、本公開買付けにおいて、買付予定数の下限を3,070,500株に設定しており
  14. Tender Offer Report (S100WNXC) 2025-09-09
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の数の合計(10,864,468株)
  15. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,258円に対して11.29%
  16. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 同過去3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,186円に対して18.04%
  17. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 同過去6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,083円に対して29.27%
  18. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比準方式:1,110円から1,223円
  19. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): DCF方式 :1,243円から1,522円
  20. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 割引率は加重平均資本コスト(WACC:Weighted Average Cost of Capital)とし、7.76%~8.76%を採用しております。
  21. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 外部環境等を勘案した上で永久成長率を1.25%~1.75%として
  22. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価基準方式:1,083円から1,258円
  23. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): DCF方式:1,106円から1,615円
  24. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 割引率は加重平均資本コスト(WACC:Weighted Average Cost of Capital)とし、6.20%~8.89%を採用しております。
  25. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率は0%として
  26. Position Statement (S100WI3H) 2025-08-08
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法:1,083円から1,258円