TOB WatchJAPAN TOB & MBO DISCLOSURE DATA 日本語

Tender offer · TOB · Closed

WealthNavi Inc.7342

Acquirer: MUFG Bank, Ltd. · Sector: Securities & Commodity Futures · Tender offer filing date: 2024-12-02 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)

Successful[3]

Valuation ranges vs the offer price

Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.

AcquirerTargetSpecial committee
Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Sec… Comparable companies method Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities Co., Ltd. · Comparable companies method (Acquirer): ¥772 〜 ¥1,297 DCF method Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Acquirer): ¥1,573 〜 ¥2,153 Market price method Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Acquirer): ¥1,058 〜 ¥1,242 Daiwa Securities DCF method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Target): ¥1,440 〜 ¥2,491 Market price method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Target): ¥1,058 〜 ¥1,242 Yamada Consulting Group DCF method Yamada Consulting Group Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Special committee): ¥1,587 〜 ¥2,165 Market price method Yamada Consulting Group Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Special committee): ¥1,058 〜 ¥1,242 Offer ¥1,950 1,0001,5002,0002,500

Deal characteristics

Category
Take-private [4]
Acquirer type
Parent / existing major shareholder[5]
Auction (chosen from several bidders)
Not stated
Competing proposal
Not stated
Special committee
Yes[6]
Valuer engaged by the special committee
山田コンサルティンググループ株式会社[7]
Fairness opinion
Not stated

Offer price negotiation

From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥1,450 to the offer price of ¥1,950: +34.5% (5 distinct proposed prices).

DateProposed byPrice per share
2024-10-24 Acquirer ¥1,450[8]
2024-11-01 Acquirer ¥1,590[9]
2024-11-12 Acquirer ¥1,720[10]
— Target / special committee (request) ¥2,100[11]
2024-11-20 Acquirer ¥1,850[12]
— Target / special committee (request) ¥2,050[13]
2024-11-26 Acquirer ¥1,950[14]

Offer terms

ItemValueHistory
Offer price per common share ¥1,950 [1] —
Minimum shares 30,988,100 shares [15] —
Shares tendered 46,563,404 shares [16] —
Result Successful [3] —

Premiums (as stated in filings)

BasisAs ofValue
Closing price on the business day before announcement 2024-11-28 84.3%[2]
1-month simple average closing price 2024-11-28 78.2%[17]
3-month simple average closing price 2024-11-28 71.7%[18]
6-month simple average closing price 2024-11-28 57.0%[19]

Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).

Valuations

Valuer Engaged by Method Value per share Discount rate Perpetual growth rate
Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer Comparable companies method Value per share ¥772 〜 ¥1,297[20] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer DCF method Value per share ¥1,573 〜 ¥2,153[21] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer Market price method (市場株価分析) Value per share ¥1,058 〜 ¥1,242[22] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target DCF method Value per share ¥1,440 〜 ¥2,491[23] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥1,058 〜 ¥1,242[24] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Yamada Consulting Group Co., Ltd. Special committee DCF method Value per share ¥1,587 〜 ¥2,165[25] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Yamada Consulting Group Co., Ltd. Special committee Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥1,058 〜 ¥1,242[26] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —

Timeline (filings)

FilingDateFilerdocID
Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-12-02 MUFG Bank, Ltd. S100UVND
Position Statement 2024-12-02 WealthNavi Inc. S100UVOV
Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-12-11 MUFG Bank, Ltd. S100UXJG
Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-12-25 MUFG Bank, Ltd. S100V0MA
Tender Offer Report 2025-01-21 MUFG Bank, Ltd. S100V493

Sources

  1. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UVND) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格1,950円は、本公開買付けの実施についての公表日の前営業日である2024年11月28日の対象者株式の東京証券取引所グロース市場における終値1,058円に対して84.31%
  2. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けの実施についての公表日の前営業日である2024年11月28日の当社株式の東京証券取引所グロース市場における終値1,058円に対して84.31%
  3. Tender Offer Report (S100V493) 2025-01-21
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(46,563,404株)が買付予定数の下限(30,988,100株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書(その後提出された公開買付届出書の訂正届出書により訂正された事項を含みます。)に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
  4. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 当社が公開買付者の完全子会社となることで、公開買付者を含むMUFGグループが一体となりその実現に向けて推進できることに加えて、上場を廃止することで、戦略投資等の経営判断をより中長期的な時間軸で行いやすくなることや、不要となる上場維持コストの一部を人材の採用や育成に振り向けることが可能になると考えております。
  5. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者及びその親会社であるMUFGは当社を持分法適用関連会社としております
  6. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): MUFGグループ及び当社のいずれからも独立した特別委員会(以下「本特別委員会」といいます。)を設置し
  7. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会独自の第三者算定機関として山田コンサルティンググループ株式会社(以下「山田コンサル」といいます。)を選任する旨を決定しました。
  8. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2024年10月24日、当社との連携を深めることで上記のシナジーが実現可能であるとの考えに至ったことから、当社に対して、本公開買付価格を1,450円
  9. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は2024年11月1日に、本公開買付価格を1,590円
  10. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、同月12日に、本公開買付価格を1,720円
  11. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 当社及び本特別委員会より、本公開買付価格が、大和証券及び山田コンサルにおけるDCF法に基づく試算結果の中央値及び本件と類似する事例におけるプレミアム水準を総合的に勘案し、本公開買付価格を2,100円とすることを提案されたとのことです。
  12. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は同月20日に、本公開買付価格を1,850円
  13. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 当社の成長性を踏まえた本源的価値や完全子会社化した後にMUFGグループにおいて当社が果たす役割等を適切に評価した上で、本公開買付価格を2,050円として検討するよう要請されたとのことです。
  14. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、同月26日に、本公開買付価格を1,950円
  15. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UVND) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数が買付予定数の下限(30,988,100株)に満たない場合は、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行いません。
  16. Tender Offer Report (S100V493) 2025-01-21
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(46,563,404株)が買付予定数の下限(30,988,100株)以上となりました
  17. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値1,094円に対して78.24%
  18. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去3ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値1,136円に対して71.65%
  19. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去6ヶ月間の終値の単純平均値1,242円に対して57.00%のプレミアム
  20. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 類似企業比較分析 :772円から1,297円
  21. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): DCF分析 :1,573円から2,153円
  22. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価分析 :1,058円から1,242円
  23. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :1,440円から2,491円
  24. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 :1,058円から1,242円
  25. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :1,587円から2,165円
  26. Position Statement (S100UVOV) 2024-12-02
    Original text (Japanese): 当社株式の1株当たりの価値の範囲を1,058円 ~ 1,242円と算定しております。