TOB WatchJAPAN TOB & MBO DISCLOSURE DATA 日本語

Tender offer · TOB · Closed

DAIKEN CORPORATION7905

Acquirer: BP Investment LLC · Sector: Other Products · Tender offer filing date: 2023-08-14 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)

Successful[3]

Valuation ranges vs the offer price

Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.

AcquirerTarget
J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Comparable companies method J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. · Comparable companies method (Acquirer): ¥1,199 〜 ¥2,510 DCF method J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Acquirer): ¥2,384 〜 ¥4,309 Market price method J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Acquirer): ¥2,279 〜 ¥2,337 Daiwa Securities DCF method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Target): ¥2,206 〜 ¥3,477 Market price method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Target): ¥2,279 〜 ¥2,337 Offer ¥3,000 2,0003,0004,000

Deal characteristics

Category
Take-private [4]
Acquirer type
Parent / existing major shareholder[5]
Auction (chosen from several bidders)
Not stated
Competing proposal
Not stated
Special committee
Yes[6]
Valuer engaged by the special committee
Not stated
Fairness opinion
Not stated

Offer price negotiation

From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥2,450 to the offer price of ¥3,000: +22.4% (6 distinct proposed prices).

DateProposed byPrice per share
2023-06-14 Acquirer ¥2,450[7]
2023-06-20 Acquirer ¥2,700[8]
2023-06-30 Acquirer ¥2,800[9]
2023-07-12 Acquirer ¥2,900[10]
— Target / special committee (request) ¥3,200[11]
2023-07-18 Acquirer ¥2,950[12]
— Target / special committee (request) ¥3,000[13]
2023-07-24 Acquirer ¥3,000[14]

Offer terms

ItemValueHistory
Offer price per common share ¥3,000 [1] —
Minimum shares 8,298,295 shares [15] —
Shares tendered 13,303,086 shares [16] —
Result Successful [3] —

Premiums (as stated in filings)

BasisAs ofValue
Closing price on the business day before announcement 2023-08-09 28.4%[2]
1-month simple average closing price 2023-08-09 29.6%[17]
3-month simple average closing price 2023-08-09 30.7%[18]
6-month simple average closing price 2023-08-09 31.6%[19]

Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).

Valuations

Valuer Engaged by Method Value per share Discount rate Perpetual growth rate
J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. Acquirer Comparable companies method Value per share ¥1,199 〜 ¥2,510[20] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. Acquirer DCF method Value per share ¥2,384 〜 ¥4,309[21] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. Acquirer Market price method (市場株価平均法) Value per share ¥2,279 〜 ¥2,337[22] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target DCF method Value per share ¥2,206 〜 ¥3,477[23] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥2,279 〜 ¥2,337[24] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —

Timeline (filings)

FilingDateFilerdocID
Tender Offer Registration Statement 2023-08-14 BP Investment LLC S100RPH5
Position Statement 2023-08-14 DAIKEN CORPORATION S100RPJJ
Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement 2023-08-28 BP Investment LLC S100RRM3
Tender Offer Report 2023-10-11 BP Investment LLC S100S03I

Sources

  1. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100RPH5) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けにおける対象者株式1株当たりの買付け等の価格(以下「本公開買付価格」といいます。)を、対象者株式1株当たり3,000円として
  2. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けの実施についての公表日の前営業日である2023年8月9日の当社株式のプライム市場における終値2,337円に対して28.37%
  3. Tender Offer Report (S100S03I) 2023-10-11
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(13,303,086株)が買付予定数の下限(8,298,295株)以上となりましたので
  4. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): なお、本取引は当社の非公開化を目的としているところ、下記「(5)本公開買付け後の組織再編等の方針(いわゆる二段階買収に関する事項)」に記載の株式併合の手続を実施する際には
  5. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者の親会社かつ特別関係者(法第27条の2第7項に規定される者をいいます。)である伊藤忠商事は、本書提出日現在、当社株式9,475,300株(所有割合(注1):36.34%) を所有しており、当社を関連会社としているとのことです。
  6. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 石﨑信吾氏(当社の監査等委員である独立社外取締役)、浅見裕子氏(当社の監査等委員である独立社外取締役)及び向原潔氏(当社の監査等委員である独立社外取締役)の3名から構成される本特別委員会
  7. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年6月14日、伊藤忠商事は当社に対し、本公開買付価格に関する第1回提案(1株当たり2,450円)を書面にて行ったとのことです
  8. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年6月20日、伊藤忠商事は当社に対し、本公開買付価格に関する第2回提案(1株当たり2,700円)を書面にて行ったとのことです
  9. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年6月30日、伊藤忠商事は当社に対し、本公開買付価格に関する第3回提案(1株当たり2,800円)を書面にて行ったとのことです
  10. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年7月12日、伊藤忠商事は当社に対し、本公開買付価格に関する第4回提案(1株当たり2,900円)を書面にて行ったとのことです
  11. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を3,200円として再検討を求める要請を、書面にて受領したとのことです。
  12. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年7月18日、伊藤忠商事は当社に対し、本公開買付価格に関する第5回提案(1株当たり2,950円)を書面にて行ったとのことです
  13. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を少なくとも1株当たり3,000円とするよう求める要請を、書面にて受領したとのことです。
  14. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年7月24日、伊藤忠商事は当社に対し、本公開買付価格を含む本取引に係る取引条件に関する最終提案(本公開買付けにおける買付予定数の下限について、マジョリティ・オブ・マイノリティ条件を設定し、かつ、本公開買付価格を1株当たり3,000円とする提案)を書面にて行ったとのことです
  15. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100RPH5) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 買付予定数の下限を8,298,295株(注2)(所有割合:31.83%)に設定しており
  16. Tender Offer Report (S100S03I) 2023-10-11
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(13,303,086株)
  17. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値2,315円に対して29.59%
  18. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値2,295円に対して30.72%
  19. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値2,279円に対して31.64%
  20. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法:1,199円~2,510円
  21. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :2,384円~4,309円
  22. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価平均法:2,279円~2,337円
  23. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :2,206円~3,477円
  24. Position Statement (S100RPJJ) 2023-08-14
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法:2,279円~2,337円