TOB WatchJAPAN TOB & MBO DISCLOSURE DATA 日本語

Tender offer · TOB · Closed

MIMASU SEMICONDUCTOR INDUSTRY CO., LTD.8155

Acquirer: Shin-Etsu Chemical Co., Ltd. · Sector: Metal Products · Tender offer filing date: 2024-06-21 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)

Successful[3]

Valuation ranges vs the offer price

Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.

AcquirerTarget
Daiwa Securities DCF method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Acquirer): ¥3,098 〜 ¥4,304 Market price method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Acquirer): ¥2,777 〜 ¥3,088 Deloitte Tohmatsu Financial Advis… DCF method Deloitte Tohmatsu Financial Advisory LLC · DCF method (Target): ¥3,475 〜 ¥4,349 Market price method Deloitte Tohmatsu Financial Advisory LLC · Market price method (Target): ¥2,777 〜 ¥3,088 Offer ¥3,700 3,0003,5004,000

Deal characteristics

Category
Take-private [4]
Acquirer type
Parent / existing major shareholder[5]
Auction (chosen from several bidders)
Not stated
Competing proposal
Not stated
Special committee
Yes[7]
Valuer engaged by the special committee
Not stated
Fairness opinion
Not stated

Offer price negotiation

From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥3,560 to the offer price of ¥3,700: +3.9% (3 distinct proposed prices).

DateProposed byPrice per share
2024-04-16 Acquirer ¥3,560[8]
2024-04-18 Target / special committee (request) ¥3,870[9]
2024-04-23 Acquirer ¥3,700[10]
2024-04-03 Acquirer ¥3,150[11]

Offer terms

ItemValueHistory
Offer price per common share ¥3,700 [1] —
Offer period start 2024-06-21 [12] —
Offer period end 2024-08-05 [13] —
Offer period (business days) 31 business days [13] —
Minimum shares 7,682,076 shares [14] —
Shares tendered 14,654,042 shares [15] —
Result Successful [3] —

Premiums (as stated in filings)

BasisAs ofValue
Closing price on the business day before announcement 2024-04-24 33.2%[2]
1-month simple average closing price 2024-04-24 26.5%[16]
3-month simple average closing price 2024-04-24 19.8%[17]
6-month simple average closing price 2024-04-24 25.0%[18]

Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).

Valuations

Valuer Engaged by Method Value per share Discount rate Perpetual growth rate
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer DCF method Value per share ¥3,098 〜 ¥4,304[19] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥2,777 〜 ¥3,088[20] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Deloitte Tohmatsu Financial Advisory LLC Target DCF method Value per share ¥3,475 〜 ¥4,349[21] Discount rate 9.1% 〜 10.1%[22] Perpetual growth rate 0.7% 〜 1.7%[23]
Deloitte Tohmatsu Financial Advisory LLC Target Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥2,777 〜 ¥3,088[24] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —

Timeline (filings)

FilingDateFilerdocID
Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-06-21 Shin-Etsu Chemical Co., Ltd. S100TPJM
Position Statement 2024-06-21 MIMASU SEMICONDUCTOR INDUSTRY CO., LTD. S100TPL9
Tender Offer Report 2024-08-06 Shin-Etsu Chemical Co., Ltd. S100U63M

Sources

  1. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100TPJM) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): これらの協議・交渉を経て、公開買付者は2024年4月25日開催の取締役会において、対象者を公開買付者の完全子会社とすることを目的として、対象者株式を本公開買付けにより取得すること、及び本公開買付価格を3,700円とすることについて決議しました。
  2. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年4月24日の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値2,777円に対して33.24%
  3. Tender Offer Report (S100U63M) 2024-08-06
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(14,654,042株)が買付予定数の下限(7,682,076株)以上となりましたので、本公開買付けに係る公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
  4. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 他方、本公開買付けは当社を完全子会社化することを目的としていますので、買付予定数の上限は設けておらず
  5. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 経済産業省が「公正なM&Aの在り方に関する指針」を公表した2019年6月28日以降、2024年4月3日までに公表された上場関連会社及び上場子会社の完全子会社化を目的とした公開買付けの事例
  6. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 現時点で実際にはなされていない対抗提案や、市場株価上昇に起因して公開買付者が本公開買付けの成立のために本公開買付価格を引き上げることへの期待等、本取引に対する様々な思惑の影響を受けて形成されたものであると推測される
  7. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年2月22日、取締役会決議により、中村修輔氏(当社社外取締役)及び星野公洋氏(当社社外取締役)並びに社外有識者である寺田芳彦氏(公認会計士・税理士、トラスティーズ・アドバイザリー株式会社)の3名によって構成される、公開買付者グループ及び当社のいずれからも独立した、本特別委員会を設置しました
  8. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2024年4月16日に、本公開買付価格を3,560円(提案前営業日である2024年4月15日の終値2,940円に対して21.09%のプレミアムを加えた価格)とする旨の再提案を行った
  9. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 当社は、2024年4月18日に、当該再提案価格に対し、少数株主の保護のため更なる配慮をしてほしいとの理由から、本公開買付価格を3,870円とすることを検討するよう要請しました
  10. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2024年4月23日に、本公開買付価格を3,700円(提案前営業日である2024年4月22日の終値2,751円に対して34.50%のプレミアムを加えた価格)とする旨の再々提案を行った
  11. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、2024年4月3日に本公開買付価格に関する最初の提案(1株当たり3,150円、提案前営業日である2024年4月2日の終値2,954円に対して6.64%
  12. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100TPJM) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 同日、本公開買付けを2024年6月21日から開始することを決定しました。
  13. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100TPJM) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付期間を2024年8月5日まで(31営業日)とすることとしました。
  14. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100TPJM) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 買付予定数の下限を7,682,076株(所有割合:23.91%)(注4)に設定しており
  15. Tender Offer Report (S100U63M) 2024-08-06
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(14,654,042株)が買付予定数の下限(7,682,076株)以上となりましたので
  16. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年4月24日までの直近1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値2,925円に対して26.50%
  17. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年4月24日までの直近3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値3,088円に対して19.82%
  18. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年4月24日までの直近6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値2,959円に対して25.04%のプレミアムをそれぞれ加えた価格とのことです。
  19. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 3,098円~4,304円
  20. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 2,777円~3,088円
  21. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 3,475円~4,349円
  22. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 9.10%から10.10%を使用しています
  23. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率については0.70%から1.70%を使用しています
  24. Position Statement (S100TPL9) 2024-06-21
    Original text (Japanese): 当社株式1株当たりの株式価値の範囲を2,777円から3,088円までと算定しています。