TOB WatchJAPAN TOB & MBO DISCLOSURE DATA 日本語

Tender offer · MBO · Closed

Renewable Japan Co., Ltd.9522

Acquirer: Tokyu Land Corporation · Sector: Electric Power & Gas · Tender offer filing date: 2024-11-15 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)

135.0%[2]
2024-11-13
Successful[3]

Valuation ranges vs the offer price

Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.

AcquirerTarget
Nomura Securities Comparable companies method Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. · Comparable companies method (Acquirer): ¥324 〜 ¥1,619 DCF method Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Acquirer): ¥994 〜 ¥1,499 Market price method Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Acquirer): ¥532 〜 ¥732 SMBC Nikko Securities Comparable companies method SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. · Comparable companies method (Target): ¥830 〜 ¥1,015 DCF method SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. · DCF method (Target): ¥945 〜 ¥1,350 Market price method SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. · Market price method (Target): ¥552 〜 ¥732 Offer ¥1,250 2505007501,0001,2501,500

Deal characteristics

Category
Take-private [4]
Acquirer type
Management (MBO)[5]
Auction (chosen from several bidders)
Not stated
Competing proposal
Not stated
Special committee
Yes[6]
Valuer engaged by the special committee
Not stated
Fairness opinion
Not stated

Offer price negotiation

From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥1,236 to the offer price of ¥1,250: +1.1% (5 distinct proposed prices).

DateProposed byPrice per share
2024-11-06 Acquirer ¥1,236[7]
2024-10-18 Acquirer ¥1,100[8]
2024-10-23 Acquirer ¥1,150[9]
2024-10-30 Acquirer ¥1,200[10]
2024-11-08 Acquirer ¥1,250[11]

Offer terms

ItemValueHistory
Offer price per common share ¥1,250 [1] —
Minimum shares 4,400,700 shares [12] —
Shares tendered 13,941,198 shares [13] —
Result Successful [3] —
MBO Yes [14] —

Premiums (as stated in filings)

BasisAs ofValue
Closing price on the business day before announcement 2024-11-13 135.0%[2]
1-month simple average closing price 2024-11-13 126.5%[15]
3-month simple average closing price 2024-11-13 108.3%[16]
6-month simple average closing price 2024-11-13 70.8%[17]

Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).

Valuations

Valuer Engaged by Method Value per share Discount rate Perpetual growth rate
Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer Comparable companies method Value per share ¥324 〜 ¥1,619[18] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer DCF method Value per share ¥994 〜 ¥1,499[19] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer Market price method (市場株価平均法) Value per share ¥532 〜 ¥732[20] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. Target Comparable companies method Value per share ¥830 〜 ¥1,015[21] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. Target DCF method (DCF法) Value per share ¥945 〜 ¥1,350[22] Discount rate 11.0% 〜 13.8%[23] Perpetual growth rate —
SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. Target DCF method (DCF法(永久成長率法)) Value per share — Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate -0.3% 〜 0.3%[24]
SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. Target Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥552 〜 ¥732[25] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —

Timeline (filings)

FilingDateFilerdocID
Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-11-15 Tokyu Land Corporation S100USNW
Position Statement 2024-11-15 Renewable Japan Co., Ltd. S100USNZ
Amended Position Statement 2024-12-03 Renewable Japan Co., Ltd. S100UW2M
Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-12-16 Tokyu Land Corporation S100UY96
Amended Position Statement 2024-12-16 Renewable Japan Co., Ltd. S100UY9S
Tender Offer Report 2025-01-09 Tokyu Land Corporation S100V2DZ

Sources

  1. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100USNW) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を1,250円と決定いたしました。
  2. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年11月13日の東京証券取引所グロース市場における当社株式の終値532円に対して134.96%
  3. Tender Offer Report (S100V2DZ) 2025-01-09
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(13,941,198株)が買付予定数の下限(4,400,700株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書(その後提出された公開買付届出書の訂正届出書により訂正された事項を含みます。)に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
  4. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、当社株式を非公開化することを目的とした一連の取引(以下「本取引」といいます。)の一環として
  5. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 本取引は、眞邉氏が、本取引の成立後、当社に出資することを予定しているとともに、本取引成立後も継続して当社の経営にあたることを予定しているため、いわゆるマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)(注4)に該当するとのことです。
  6. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 豊島國史氏(当社独立社外監査役)、沼野由行氏(当社独立社外取締役)、安田義則氏(当社独立社外取締役)、土田誠行氏(当社独立社外取締役)及び芳木亮介氏(当社独立社外監査役)の5名から構成される特別委員会(以下「本特別委員会」といい
  7. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、同月6日に、本公開買付価格を1,236円(2024年11月5日の終値539円に対して129.31%のプレミアム)とする旨の再提案を行ったとのことです。
  8. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年10月18日に、本公開買付価格を1,100円(2024年10月17日の終値567円に対して94.00%
  9. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 同月23日に、本公開買付価格を1,150円(2024年10月22日の終値565円に対して103.54%のプレミアム)とする旨の再提案を行ったとのことです。
  10. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 同月30日に、本公開買付価格を1,200円(2024年10月29日の終値557円に対して115.44%のプレミアム)
  11. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 同月8日に、本公開買付価格を1,250円(2024年11月7日の終値552円に対して126.45%のプレミアム)とする旨の再提案を行ったとのことです。
  12. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100USNW) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 買付予定数の下限を4,400,700株(所有割合:14.45%)と設定しており
  13. Tender Offer Report (S100V2DZ) 2025-01-09
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(13,941,198株)が買付予定数の下限(4,400,700株)以上となりました
  14. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100USNW) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): いわゆるマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)(注4)に該当いたします。
  15. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値552円に対して126.45%
  16. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値600円に対して108.33%
  17. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値732円に対して70.77%のプレミアム
  18. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法:324円から1,619円
  19. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :994円から1,499円
  20. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価平均法:532円から732円
  21. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 類似上場会社比較法:830円~1,015円
  22. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :945円~1,350円
  23. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): その際、11.0%~13.8%の割引率を採用しております。
  24. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 永久成長法では永久成長率を-0.25%~0.25%
  25. Position Statement (S100USNZ) 2024-11-15
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 :552円~732円