TOB WatchJAPAN TOB & MBO DISCLOSURE DATA 日本語

Tender offer · MBO · Closed

Benesse Holdings, Inc9783

Acquirer: Bloom 1 Co., Ltd. · Sector: Services · Tender offer filing date: 2024-01-30 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)

Successful[3]

Valuation ranges vs the offer price

Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.

Target
Daiwa Securities Comparable companies method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · Comparable companies method (Target): ¥1,487 〜 ¥1,942 DCF method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Target): ¥2,121 〜 ¥2,965 Market price method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Target): ¥1,782 〜 ¥1,841 Offer ¥2,600 1,5002,0002,5003,000

Deal characteristics

Category
Take-private [4]
Acquirer type
Management (MBO)[5]
Auction (chosen from several bidders)
Not stated
Competing proposal
Not stated
Special committee
Yes[7]
Valuer engaged by the special committee
Not stated
Fairness opinion
Not stated

Offer price negotiation

From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥2,300 to the offer price of ¥2,600: +13.0% (5 distinct proposed prices).

DateProposed byPrice per share
2023-09-30 Acquirer ¥2,300[8]
2023-10-13 Acquirer ¥2,430[9]
2023-10-23 Acquirer ¥2,510[10]
2023-10-30 Acquirer ¥2,590[11]
— Target / special committee (request) ¥2,600[12]
2023-11-01 Acquirer ¥2,600[13]
2023-11-09 Acquirer ¥2,600[14]

Offer terms

ItemValueHistory
Offer price per common share ¥2,600 [1] —
Offer period end 2024-03-13 [15] —
Minimum shares 47,818,900 shares [16] —
Shares tendered 67,738,016 shares [17] —
Result Successful [3] —
MBO Yes [18] —

Premiums (as stated in filings)

BasisAs ofValue
Closing price on the business day before announcement 2023-11-09 45.1%[2]
1-month simple average closing price 2023-11-09 45.9%[19]
3-month simple average closing price 2023-11-09 42.4%[20]
6-month simple average closing price 2023-11-09 41.2%[21]

Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).

Valuations

Valuer Engaged by Method Value per share Discount rate Perpetual growth rate
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target Comparable companies method Value per share ¥1,487 〜 ¥1,942[22] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target DCF method Value per share ¥2,121 〜 ¥2,965[23] Discount rate by business ↓ Perpetual growth rate by business ↓
└ Education business — Discount rate 6.4% 〜 7.2%[24] Perpetual growth rate -0.5% 〜 0.5%[25]
└ Nursing care business — Discount rate 7.6% 〜 8.2%[24] Perpetual growth rate 0.0% 〜 1.0%[25]
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Target Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥1,782 〜 ¥1,841[26] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —

Timeline (filings)

FilingDateFilerdocID
Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-01-30 Bloom 1 Co., Ltd. S100SOYS
Position Statement 2024-01-30 Benesse Holdings, Inc S100SP0Q
Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-02-16 Bloom 1 Co., Ltd. S100SX1C
Tender Offer Report 2024-03-05 Bloom 1 Co., Ltd. S100T03J

Sources

  1. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SOYS) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 対象者株式1株あたりの本公開買付価格2,600円は、本公開買付けの開始予定の公表日である2023年11月10日の前営業日である2023年11月9日の対象者株式の東京証券取引所プライム市場における終値1,791.5円に対して45.13%
  2. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年11月9日の当社株式の東京証券取引所プライム市場における終値1,791.5円に対して45.13%
  3. Tender Offer Report (S100T03J) 2024-03-05
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(67,738,016株)が買付予定数の下限(47,818,900株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書(その後提出された公開買付届出書の訂正届出書により訂正された事項を含みます。)に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
  4. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者が本公開買付け及びその後の一連の手続により当社株式を非公開化することを企図していること、並びにそれにより当社株式が上場廃止となる予定であることを前提として行われたものです。
  5. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 経済産業省が「公正なM&Aの在り方に関する指針-企業価値の向上と株主利益の確保にむけて-」を公表した2019年6月28日以降2023年9月30日までに公表されたマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)事例の内、成立した46件におけるプレミアムの中央値
  6. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 現時点で実際にはなされていない対抗提案や、市場株価上昇に起因して公開買付者らが本公開買付けの成立のために本公開買付価格を引き上げることへの期待等
  7. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会は、2023年6月9日より2023年11月10日まで合計18回開催され、本諮問事項について、慎重に検討及び協議を行っております。
  8. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 当社株式1株あたりの本公開買付価格を2,300円(2,300円は、当該提案がなされた2023年9月30日の前営業日である2023年9月29日の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値1,829.5円に対して25.72%
  9. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けにおける当社株式1株あたりの本公開買付価格を2,430円(2,430円は、当該提案がなされた2023年10月13日の前営業日である2023年10月12日の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値1,821.5円に対して33.41%
  10. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けにおける当社株式1株あたりの本公開買付価格を2,510円(2,510円は、当該提案がなされた2023年10月23日の前営業日である2023年10月20日の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値1,778円に対して41.17%
  11. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けにおける当社株式1株あたりの本公開買付価格を2,590円(2,590円は、当該提案がなされた2023年10月30日の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値1,750円に対して48.00%
  12. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 当社としての説明責任を果たす観点及び当社の少数株主に対して応募推奨を行うという観点から、当社株式1株あたりの本公開買付価格を2,600円に引き上げるよう要請を受けたとのことです。
  13. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けにおける当社株式1株あたりの本公開買付価格を2,600円(2,600円は、当該提案がなされた2023年11月1日の前営業日である2023年10月31日の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値1,784.5円に対して45.70%
  14. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): これを踏まえて、公開買付者らは、当社取締役会での最終決定のために、2023年11月9日に、当社に対し、本公開買付けにおける当社株式1株あたりの本公開買付価格を2,600円
  15. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SOYS) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付期間は30営業日、2024年3月13日(水曜日)までとなります。
  16. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SOYS) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数が買付予定数の下限(47,818,900株)以上の場合は、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
  17. Tender Offer Report (S100T03J) 2024-03-05
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(67,738,016株)が買付予定数の下限(47,818,900株)以上となりました
  18. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SOYS) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): いわゆるマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)(注5)に該当いたします。
  19. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,782円に対して45.90%
  20. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,826円に対して42.39%
  21. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,841円に対して41.23%
  22. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 類似企業比較法 1,487円~1,942円
  23. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 2,121円~2,965円
  24. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 割引率は、教育事業では6.4%~7.2%、介護事業では7.6%~8.2%を採用しております。
  25. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率を教育事業では-0.5%~0.5%、介護事業では0.0%~1.0%としております。
  26. Position Statement (S100SP0Q) 2024-01-30
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 1,782円~1,841円