TOB WatchJAPAN TOB & MBO DISCLOSURE DATA 日本語

Tender offer · TOB · Closed

ELAN Corporation6099

Acquirer: M3, Inc. · Sector: Services · Tender offer filing date: 2024-09-20 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)

Closed

Valuation ranges vs the offer price

Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.

Acquirer
Mizuho Securities Comparable companies method Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. · Comparable companies method (Acquirer): ¥747 〜 ¥972 DCF method Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Acquirer): ¥827 〜 ¥1,310 Market price method Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Acquirer): ¥823 〜 ¥880 Offer ¥1,040 8001,0001,200

Deal characteristics

Category
Partial offer (stays listed) [3]
Acquirer type
Strategic buyer[4]
Auction (chosen from several bidders)
Not stated
Competing proposal
Not stated
Special committee
Not stated
Valuer engaged by the special committee
Not stated
Fairness opinion
Not stated

Offer price negotiation

From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥1,000 to the offer price of ¥1,040: +4.0% (3 distinct proposed prices).

DateProposed byPrice per share
2024-08-27 Acquirer ¥1,000[5]
2024-08-30 Acquirer ¥1,040[6]
— Acquirer ¥900[7]

Offer terms

ItemValueHistory
Offer price per common share ¥1,040 [1] —
Offer period end 2024-11-05 [8] —
Offer period (business days) 30 business days [8] —
Minimum shares 30,360,200 shares [9] —
Maximum shares 33,329,453 shares [10] —
Shares tendered 45,172,994 shares [11] —

Premiums (as stated in filings)

BasisAs ofValue
Closing price on the business day before announcement 2024-09-18 24.0%[2]
1-month simple average closing price 2024-09-18 26.4%[12]
3-month simple average closing price 2024-09-18 21.2%[13]
6-month simple average closing price 2024-09-18 18.2%[14]

Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).

Valuations

Valuer Engaged by Method Value per share Discount rate Perpetual growth rate
Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer Comparable companies method Value per share ¥747 〜 ¥972[15] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer DCF method Value per share ¥827 〜 ¥1,310[16] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd. Acquirer Market price method (市場株価基準法) Value per share ¥823 〜 ¥880[17] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —

Timeline (filings)

FilingDateFilerdocID
Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-09-20 M3, Inc. S100UELG
Position Statement 2024-09-20 ELAN Corporation S100UEM7
Tender Offer Report 2024-10-22 M3, Inc. S100UKGS

Sources

  1. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UELG) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を1,040円として本公開買付けを実施すること
  2. Position Statement (S100UEM7) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けの公表日の前営業日である2024年9月18日の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値839円に対して23.96%
  3. Position Statement (S100UEM7) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けは当社株式の上場廃止を企図するものではなく、本公開買付けが成立した場合においても、公開買付者及び当社は引き続き当社株式について、東京証券取引所プライム市場への上場を維持する方針であることから
  4. Position Statement (S100UEM7) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 本書提出日現在、公開買付者は当社株式を所有しておらず、本公開買付けは支配株主による取引には該当いたしません。また、当社の経営陣の全部又は一部が公開買付者に直接又は間接に出資することは予定されておらず、本公開買付けを含む本取引は、いわゆるマネジメント・バイアウト(MBO)(注)にも該当いたしません。
  5. Position Statement (S100UEM7) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、当該要請を踏まえて、2024年8月27日、櫻井英治氏との間の協議において、本公開買付価格を1,000円(提案日の前営業日である2024年8月26日の当社株式の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値818円に対して22.25%のプレミアム)とする提案(以下「第二回提案」といいます。)を行った
  6. Position Statement (S100UEM7) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、当該要請を踏まえて、2024年8月30日、櫻井英治氏との間の協議において、本公開買付価格を1,040円(提案日の前営業日である2024年8月29日の当社株式の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値813円に対して27.92%のプレミアム)とする提案を行った
  7. Position Statement (S100UEM7) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格」といいます。)を900円(提案日の前営業日である2024年8月19日の当社株式の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値803円に対して12.08%
  8. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UELG) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付期間は30営業日、2024年11月5日(火曜日)までとなります。
  9. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UELG) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の数の合計が買付予定数の下限(30,360,200株)に満たない場合は、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行いません。
  10. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100UELG) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の数の合計が買付予定数の上限(33,329,453株)を超える場合は、その超える部分の全部又は一部の買付け等を行わないものとし
  11. Tender Offer Report (S100UKGS) 2024-10-22
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等」といいます。)の数の合計(45,172,994株)
  12. Position Statement (S100UEM7) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値823円に対して26.37%
  13. Position Statement (S100UEM7) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 同過去3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値858円に対して21.21%
  14. Position Statement (S100UEM7) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 同過去6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値880円に対して18.18%
  15. Position Statement (S100UEM7) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 類似企業比較法:747円から972円
  16. Position Statement (S100UEM7) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :827円から1,310円
  17. Position Statement (S100UEM7) 2024-09-20
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価基準法:823円から880円