Tender offer · TOB · Closed
Nissei Co., Ltd.6271
Acquirer: BROTHER INDUSTRIES LTD. · Sector: — · Tender offer filing date: 2021-11-09 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)
¥1,500[1]
3
Valuation ranges vs the offer price
Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.
AcquirerTargetSpecial committee
Deal characteristics
- Category
- Take-private [4]
- Acquirer type
- Parent / existing major shareholder[5]
- Auction (chosen from several bidders)
- Not stated
- Competing proposal
- Not stated
- Special committee
- Yes[6]
- Valuer engaged by the special committee
- 株式会社プルータス・コンサルティング[7]
- Fairness opinion
- Not stated
Offer price negotiation
From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥1,250 to the offer price of ¥1,500: +20.0% (5 distinct proposed prices).
| Date | Proposed by | Price per share |
|---|---|---|
| 2021-10-01 | Acquirer | ¥1,250[8] |
| 2021-10-08 | Acquirer | ¥1,350[9] |
| 2021-10-15 | Acquirer | ¥1,400[10] |
| 2021-10-25 | Acquirer | ¥1,400[11] |
| 2021-10-29 | Acquirer | ¥1,450[12] |
| 2021-11-01 | Acquirer | ¥1,500[13] |
| 2021-11-03 | Acquirer | ¥1,500[14] |
Offer terms
| Item | Value | History |
|---|---|---|
| Offer price per common share | ¥1,500 [1] | — |
| Minimum shares | 1,801,242 shares [15] | — |
| Shares tendered | 10,134,122 shares [16] | — |
| Result | Successful [3] | — |
Premiums (as stated in filings)
| Basis | As of | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Closing price on the business day before announcement | 2021-11-05 | 44.2%[2] |
| 1-month simple average closing price | 2021-11-05 | 43.0%[17] |
| 3-month simple average closing price | 2021-11-05 | 42.3%[18] |
| 6-month simple average closing price | 2021-11-05 | 43.5%[19] |
Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).
Valuations
| Valuer | Engaged by | Method | Value per share | Discount rate | Perpetual growth rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥968 〜 ¥1,148[20] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | DCF method | Value per share ¥1,112 〜 ¥1,643[21] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | Market price method (市場株価平均法) | Value per share ¥1,040 〜 ¥1,065[22] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. | Target | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥979 〜 ¥1,184[23] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. | Target | DCF method | Value per share ¥1,320 〜 ¥1,772[24] | Discount rate 7.6% 〜 9.2%[25] | Perpetual growth rate -0.3% 〜 0.3%[26] |
| SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. | Target | Market price method (市場株価法) | Value per share ¥1,045 〜 ¥1,054[27] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Plutus Consulting Co., Ltd. | Special committee | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥946 〜 ¥1,193[28] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Plutus Consulting Co., Ltd. | Special committee | DCF method | Value per share ¥1,238 〜 ¥1,619[29] | Discount rate 7.6% 〜 8.4%[30] | Perpetual growth rate 0.0%[31] |
| Plutus Consulting Co., Ltd. | Special committee | Market price method (市場株価法) | Value per share ¥1,040 〜 ¥1,054[32] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
Timeline (filings)
| Filing | Date | Filer | docID |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2021-11-09 | BROTHER INDUSTRIES LTD. | S100MR9K |
| Position Statement | 2021-11-09 | Nissei Co., Ltd. | S100MRGF |
| Tender Offer Report | 2021-12-22 | BROTHER INDUSTRIES LTD. | S100N3QD |
Sources
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100MR9K) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を1株当たり1,500円と決定いたしました
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 2021年11月5日の東京証券取引所市場第二部における当社株式の終値1,040円に対して44.23%
- Tender Offer Report (S100N3QD) 2021-12-22
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(10,134,122株)が買付予定数の下限(1,801,242株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付けを行います。
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、当社の完全子会社化を企図しているため、本公開買付けにおいて、1,801,242株(所有割合:6.50%)(注2)を買付予定数の下限として設定しているとのことです。
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者グループ(公開買付者並びにその連結子会社及び持分法適用関連会社をいいます。以下同じです。)は、本書提出日現在、公開買付者、当社を含む連結子会社111社、及び持分法適用関連会社7社で構成されており
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 高橋源樹氏(当社独立社外取締役)、永田達也氏(当社独立社外取締役)、高橋明人氏(弁護士、高橋・片山法律事務所)及び長谷川臣介氏(公認会計士・税理士、長谷川公認会計士事務所)の4名から構成される特別委員会(以下「本特別委員会」といいます。
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会において、当社及び公開買付者から独立した財務アドバイザー及び第三者算定機関として株式会社プルータス・コンサルティング(以下「プルータス」といいます。)を独自に選任し
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 2021年10月1日に本公開買付けにおける当社株式1株当たりの買付け等の価格(以下「本公開買付価格」といいます。)を1,250円とする最初の提案を行いましたが
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 同月8日に本公開買付価格を1,350円としたい旨の提案を行いましたが
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、同月15日に本公開買付価格を1,400円としたいとの提案を行いましたが
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、同月25日に、改めて検討の上、本取引実行の安定性の観点を考慮しても、本公開買付価格は1,400円とするのが妥当であると考え、本公開買付価格は前回の提案に引き続き1,400円としたいとの提案を行いましたが
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 同月29日に本公開買付価格を1,450円としたいとの提案を行いましたが
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、上記経緯を踏まえ、同年11月1日に本公開買付価格を1,500円とする旨の最終提案を行うに至りました。
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、同月3日、価格の引き上げも含め検討しましたが、本公開買付価格を1,500円とすることで本取引実行の安定性は十分に高めることができていると判断し、加えて、公開買付者の経済的合理性も勘案の上、本公開買付価格は、最終提案で提示した1,500円としたいとの提案を行いました。
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100MR9K) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数が買付予定数の下限(1,801,242株)に満たない場合は、応募株券等の全部の買付けを行いません。
- Tender Offer Report (S100N3QD) 2021-12-22
Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(10,134,122株)が買付予定数の下限(1,801,242株)以上となりましたので
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,049円に対して42.99%
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,054円に対して42.31%
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値1,045円に対して43.54%
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法:968円~1,148円
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :1,112円~1,643円
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価平均法:1,040円~1,065円
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 類似上場会社比較法:979円から1,184円
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :1,320円から1,772円
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 割引率は7.6%~9.2%を採用しており
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率は-0.25%~0.25%とし
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 :1,045円から1,054円
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法:946円から1,193円
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :1,238円から1,619円
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 割引率は7.6%~8.4%を採用しており
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率では成長率を0%
- Position Statement (S100MRGF) 2021-11-09
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法 :1,040円から1,054円