Tender offer · TOB · Closed
Utoc Corporation9358
Acquirer: Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd. · Sector: — · Tender offer filing date: 2021-12-01 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)
Valuation ranges vs the offer price
Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.
AcquirerTargetSpecial committee
Deal characteristics
- Category
- Take-private [3]
- Acquirer type
- Parent / existing major shareholder[4]
- Auction (chosen from several bidders)
- Not stated
- Competing proposal
- Not stated
- Special committee
- Yes[6]
- Valuer engaged by the special committee
- 山田コンサルティンググループ株式会社[7]
- Fairness opinion
- Not stated
Offer price negotiation
From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥680 to the offer price of ¥725: +6.6% (5 distinct proposed prices).
| Date | Proposed by | Price per share |
|---|---|---|
| — | Acquirer | ¥680[8] |
| 2021-11-05 | Acquirer | ¥700[9] |
| 2021-11-12 | Acquirer | ¥710[10] |
| 2021-11-17 | Acquirer | ¥715[11] |
| 2021-11-25 | Acquirer | ¥725[12] |
Offer terms
| Item | Value | History |
|---|---|---|
| Offer price per common share | ¥725 [1] | — |
Premiums (as stated in filings)
| Basis | As of | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Closing price on the business day before announcement | 2021-11-29 | 40.5%[2] |
| 1-month simple average closing price | 2021-11-29 | 37.6%[13] |
| 3-month simple average closing price | 2021-11-29 | 33.8%[14] |
| 6-month simple average closing price | 2021-11-29 | 35.8%[15] |
Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).
Valuations
| Valuer | Engaged by | Method | Value per share | Discount rate | Perpetual growth rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Goldman Sachs Japan Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | DCF method | Value per share ¥605 〜 ¥769[16] | Discount rate 7.8% 〜 10.8%[17] | Perpetual growth rate 0.3% 〜 0.8%[18] |
| Goldman Sachs Japan Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | Market price method (市場株価法) | Value per share ¥454 〜 ¥603[19] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Goldman Sachs Japan Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | Other (プレミアム分析) | Value per share ¥660 〜 ¥782[20] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Goldman Sachs Japan Co., Ltd. | Acquirer | Other (将来株式価値の現価分析) | Value per share ¥649 〜 ¥879[21] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥322 〜 ¥636[22] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | DCF method | Value per share ¥630 〜 ¥1,239[23] | Discount rate 4.5% 〜 5.0%[24] | Perpetual growth rate -0.3% 〜 0.3%[25] |
| Nomura Securities Co., Ltd. | Target | Market price method (市場株価平均法) | Value per share ¥516 〜 ¥542[26] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Yamada Consulting Group Co., Ltd. | Special committee | Comparable companies method | Value per share ¥575 〜 ¥740[27] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
| Yamada Consulting Group Co., Ltd. | Special committee | DCF method | Value per share ¥540 〜 ¥877[28] | Discount rate 6.7% 〜 8.2%[29] | Perpetual growth rate -0.5% 〜 0.5%[30] |
| Yamada Consulting Group Co., Ltd. | Special committee | Market price method (市場株価法) | Value per share ¥516 〜 ¥542[31] | Discount rate — | Perpetual growth rate — |
Timeline (filings)
| Filing | Date | Filer | docID |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tender Offer Registration Statement | 2021-12-01 | Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd. | S100MZ7D |
| Position Statement | 2021-12-01 | Utoc Corporation | S100MZ8X |
| Tender Offer Report | 2022-01-19 | Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd. | S100N90S |
Sources
- Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100MZ7D) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 最終的に本公開買付価格を1株当たり725円と決定いたしました。
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 2021年11月29日の東京証券取引所市場第一部における当社株式の終値516円に対して40.50%
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 当社株式の上場廃止により、コーポレートガバナンス・コード等への対応を含めた近時の上場維持に係る業務負担や、有価証券報告書等の継続的な情報開示、監査、株主総会の運営や株主名簿管理人への事務委託に要する費用に代表される上場維持に要する費用の削減が見込まれ
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 当社の支配株主(親会社)である公開買付者による当社の普通株式
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 市場における潜在的な買収者の有無を調査・検討する、いわゆる積極的なマーケット・チェックに関しては、情報管理の観点等から実務上その実施は必ずしも容易とは言えず、従って本取引においてもそのような対応が行われていないことのみをもって、マーケット・チェックの点で不合理な状況が生じるものでは無いと考えられること
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 同年10月18日開催の取締役会における決議により、中井元氏(当社の独立社外取締役)、河合千尋氏(当社の独立社外監査役、ベイサイド・パートナーズ会計事務所代表、横浜市公立大学法人評価委員会委員)、高橋明人氏(弁護士、高橋・片山法律事務所)の3名から構成される特別委員会
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会は、下記「(6) 本公開買付価格の公正性を担保するための措置及び利益相反を回避するための措置等、本公開買付けの公正性を担保するための措置」の「② 当社における独立した特別委員会の設置及び特別委員会からの答申書の取得」に記載のとおり、上記の権限に基づき、2021年10月29日、独自のファイナンシャル・アドバイザー及び第三者算定機関として山田コンサルティンググループ株式会社(以下「山田コンサル」といいます。)を選任しております。
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付けにおける当社株式の買付け等の価格(以下「本公開買付価格」といいます。)を1株当たり680円とすることを含む、本取引に関する正式提案を行ったとのことですが
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、本公開買付価格の再検討を要請されたことを踏まえ、同月5日に本公開買付価格を1株当たり700円に引き上げる旨の提案を行いましたが
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、同月12日に、当社に対して改めて本公開買付価格を1株当たり710円とする旨の提案を行いましたが
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、同月17日に、本公開買付価格を1株当たり715円とする旨の提案を行いましたが
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 同月25日に本公開買付価格を1株当たり725円とする最終提案を行い
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 直近1ヶ月間(2021年11月1日から2021年11月29日)の終値単純平均値527円に対して37.57%
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 直近3ヶ月間(2021年8月30日から2021年11月29日)の終値単純平均値542円に対して33.76%
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 直近6ヶ月間(2021年5月31日から2021年11月29日)の終値単純平均値534円に対して35.77%
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 2. DCF法 605円~769円
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 7.75%から10.75%までのレンジの割引率を用いて
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 0.25%から0.75%までの永久成長率を適用してターミナル・バリューを計算している
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 1. 市場株価法 454円~603円
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 4. プレミアム分析 660円~782円
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 3. 将来株式価値の現価分析 649円~879円
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法: 322円から636円
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): DCF法: 630円から1,239円
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 割引率は4.50%~5.00%を採用しており
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率は-0.25%~0.25%
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価平均法: 516円から542円
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法: 575円から740円
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): DCF法: 540円から877円
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 割引率は、6.69%~8.17%を採用しており
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 永久成長率は-0.50%~0.50%
- Position Statement (S100MZ8X) 2021-12-01
Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法: 516円から542円