TOB WatchJAPAN TOB & MBO DISCLOSURE DATA 日本語

Tender offer · TOB · Closed

Benefit One Inc.2412

Acquirer: Daiichi Life Group Co., Ltd. · Sector: Services · Tender offer filing date: 2024-02-09 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)

Successful[3]

Valuation ranges vs the offer price

Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.

AcquirerTarget
J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Comparable companies method J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. · Comparable companies method (Acquirer): ¥803 〜 ¥1,475 DCF method J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Acquirer): ¥1,393 〜 ¥2,195 Market price method J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Acquirer): ¥1,063 〜 ¥1,303 Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Sec… Comparable companies method Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities Co., Ltd. · Comparable companies method (Target): ¥630 〜 ¥1,542 DCF method Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Target): ¥1,818 〜 ¥2,533 Market price method Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Target): ¥1,066 〜 ¥1,302 Offer ¥2,173 1,0001,5002,0002,500

Deal characteristics

Category
Take-private [4]
Acquirer type
Strategic buyer[5]
Auction (chosen from several bidders)
Yes[6]
Competing proposal
Yes[7]
Special committee
Yes[8]
Valuer engaged by the special committee
Not stated
Fairness opinion
Not stated

Offer price negotiation

From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥2,173 to the offer price of ¥2,173: 0.0% (3 distinct proposed prices).

DateProposed byPrice per share
— Acquirer ¥2,173[9]
— Acquirer ¥1,800[10]
2023-12-21 Acquirer ¥2,123[11]

Offer terms

ItemValueHistory
Offer price per common share ¥2,173 [1] —
Offer period (business days) 20 business days [12] —
Minimum shares 24,511,300 shares [13] —
Shares tendered 59,329,660 shares [14] —
Result Successful [3] —

Premiums (as stated in filings)

BasisAs ofValue
Closing price on the business day before announcement 2023-11-13 86.8%[2]
1-month simple average closing price 2023-11-13 104.4%[15]
3-month simple average closing price 2023-11-13 95.2%[16]
6-month simple average closing price 2023-11-13 66.8%[17]

Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).

Valuations

Valuer Engaged by Method Value per share Discount rate Perpetual growth rate
J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. Acquirer Comparable companies method Value per share ¥803 〜 ¥1,475[18] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. Acquirer DCF method Value per share ¥1,393 〜 ¥2,195[19] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
J.P. Morgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd. Acquirer Market price method (市場株価平均法) Value per share ¥1,063 〜 ¥1,303[20] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities Co., Ltd. Target Comparable companies method Value per share ¥630 〜 ¥1,542[21] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities Co., Ltd. Target DCF method Value per share ¥1,818 〜 ¥2,533[22] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities Co., Ltd. Target Market price method (市場株価分析) Value per share ¥1,066 〜 ¥1,302[23] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —

Timeline (filings)

FilingDateFilerdocID
Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-02-09 第一生命ホールディングス株式会社 S100SRS5
Position Statement 2024-02-09 Benefit One Inc. S100STWW
Amended Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-02-15 第一生命ホールディングス株式会社 S100SWPQ
Tender Offer Report 2024-03-12 第一生命ホールディングス株式会社 S100T192

Sources

  1. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SRS5) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 本公開買付価格を1株当たり2,173円とし、本自己株式取得価格を1株当たり1,526円とすることを決定しております。
  2. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年11月13日の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値1,163円に対して86.84%
  3. Tender Offer Report (S100T192) 2024-03-12
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の数の合計(59,329,660株)が買付予定数の下限(24,511,300株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書(その後提出された公開買付届出書の訂正届出書により訂正された事項を含みます。)に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
  4. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 上記取締役会決議は、公開買付者が本公開買付け及びその後の一連の手続きを経て、当社を完全子会社とすることを企図していること、並びに当社株式が上場廃止となる予定であることを前提として行われたものです。
  5. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 当社グループ固有のサービスに公開買付者グループの持つサービスを上乗せ提供し、企業課題を総合的に解決する福利厚生ソリューションを展開することで、企業による人的資本経営・健康経営の支援、並びに従業員一人ひとりの様々なライフスタイルに対応した商品・サービスの提供が可能になると考えるに至ったとのことです。
  6. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、エムスリー公開買付開始プレスリリース等のエムスリー公開買付けに関する公表情報から公開買付者がエムスリー公開買付けにおける買付け等の価格を上回る真摯な対抗提案を提出すれば当社及びパソナグループが当該対抗提案に応じる可能性があることを知ったことから、2023年11月下旬から同年12月上旬にかけての上記の検討を踏まえて、当社及びパソナグループに対して本取引に向けた具体的な提案を行うこととし
  7. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年11月14日付「エムスリー株式会社による当社株式に対する公開買付けに関する意見表明及び同社との資本業務提携契約締結に関するお知らせ」(以下「エムスリー意見表明プレスリリース」といいます。)により公表いたしましたエムスリー株式会社(以下「エムスリー」といいます。)による当社株式に対する公開買付け(以下「エムスリー公開買付け」といいます。)
  8. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年8月31日開催の当社取締役会決議により、当社の社外取締役(監査等委員)である藤池智則氏、久保信保氏、濵田敏彰氏の3名によって構成される特別委員会(以下「本特別委員会」といいます。
  9. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 当社は、公開買付者より、2024年2月8日開催の公開買付者取締役会における承認を得られることを条件として、本1株当たり株式価値を1,842円(注1)とする前提で、本公開買付価格を2,173円(注2)とする最終提案を受領しました。
  10. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 当社株式の1株当たりの株式価値(以下「本1株当たり株式価値」といいます。)を1,800円(本意向表明書(以下に定義します。)の提出日の前営業日である2023年12月4日の東京証券取引所プライム市場における当社株式の終値1,515円に対して18.81%
  11. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年12月21日に、本自己株式取得が行われた場合のパソナグループの税引後手取り額として計算される金額が、仮にパソナグループが本公開買付けに応じた場合に得られる税引後手取り額と同等となるよう算出した結果、本公開買付価格を1株当たり2,123円とし、本自己株式取得価格を1株当たり1,491円とすることを決定し
  12. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SRS5) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、本公開買付けにおける買付け等の期間(以下「公開買付期間」といいます。)を20営業日と設定している
  13. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100SRS5) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、本公開買付けにおいて24,511,300株(所有割合:15.44%)を買付予定数の下限として設定しており
  14. Tender Offer Report (S100T192) 2024-03-12
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の数の合計(59,329,660株)が買付予定数の下限(24,511,300株)以上となりました
  15. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 同日までの過去1ヶ月間(2023年10月14日から2023年11月13日まで)の終値単純平均値1,063円に対して104.42%
  16. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 同過去3ヶ月間(2023年8月14日から2023年11月13日まで)の終値単純平均値1,113円に対して95.24%
  17. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 同過去6ヶ月間(2023年5月14日から2023年11月13日まで)の終値単純平均値1,303円に対して66.77%
  18. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 類似会社比較法 :803円から1,475円
  19. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法 :1,393円から2,195円
  20. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価平均法 :1,063円から1,303円
  21. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 類似企業比較分析 :630円から1,542円
  22. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): DCF分析 :1,818円から2,533円
  23. Position Statement (S100STWW) 2024-02-09
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価分析 :1,066円から1,302円