TOB WatchJAPAN TOB & MBO DISCLOSURE DATA 日本語

Tender offer · TOB · Closed

Lawson,Inc.2651

Acquirer: KDDI CORPORATION · Sector: Retail Trade · Tender offer filing date: 2024-03-28 · Open on EDINET · Deal data (JSON)

Successful[3]

Valuation ranges vs the offer price

Value-per-share range from each valuer (colour shows who engaged them) and the offer price (vertical line). Values and sources are in the table below.

AcquirerTargetSpecial committee
UBS Securities Japan Comparable companies method UBS Securities Japan Co., Ltd. · Comparable companies method (Acquirer): ¥6,568 〜 ¥8,835 DCF method UBS Securities Japan Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Acquirer): ¥9,711 〜 ¥13,038 Market price method UBS Securities Japan Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Acquirer): ¥7,264 〜 ¥8,721 SMBC Nikko Securities DCF method SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. · DCF method (Target): ¥9,609 〜 ¥14,907 Market price method SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. · Market price method (Target): ¥7,248 〜 ¥8,039 Daiwa Securities DCF method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · DCF method (Special committee): ¥7,037 〜 ¥14,514 Market price method Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. · Market price method (Special committee): ¥7,264 〜 ¥8,721 Offer ¥10,360 8,00010,00012,00014,000

Deal characteristics

Category
Take-private [4]
Acquirer type
Parent / existing major shareholder[5]
Auction (chosen from several bidders)
Not stated
Competing proposal
Not stated
Special committee
Yes[6]
Valuer engaged by the special committee
大和証券株式会社[7]
Fairness opinion
Special committee, from 大和証券株式会社[8]; Special committee, from 大和証券株式会社[9]

Offer price negotiation

From the acquirer's first proposal of ¥8,650 to the offer price of ¥10,360: +19.8% (8 distinct proposed prices).

DateProposed byPrice per share
2023-12-26 Acquirer ¥8,650[10]
2024-01-04 Acquirer ¥9,000[11]
2024-01-11 Acquirer ¥9,500[12]
2024-01-18 Acquirer ¥10,000[13]
2024-01-26 Acquirer ¥10,200[14]
2024-01-29 Acquirer ¥10,290[15]
2024-01-30 Acquirer ¥10,350[16]
2024-01-31 Acquirer ¥10,360[17]

Offer terms

ItemValueHistory
Offer price per common share ¥10,360 [1] —
Offer period end 2024-05-13 [18] —
Minimum shares 14,458,500 shares [19] —
Shares tendered 39,031,496 shares [20] —
Result Successful [3] —

Premiums (as stated in filings)

BasisAs ofValue
Closing price on the business day before announcement 2024-02-05 18.8%[2]
1-month simple average closing price 2024-02-05 27.1%[21]
3-month simple average closing price 2024-02-05 37.3%[22]
6-month simple average closing price 2024-02-05 42.6%[23]

Premiums are as stated in the filings (not recalculated from market prices).

Valuations

Valuer Engaged by Method Value per share Discount rate Perpetual growth rate
UBS Securities Japan Co., Ltd. Acquirer Comparable companies method Value per share ¥6,568 〜 ¥8,835[24] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
UBS Securities Japan Co., Ltd. Acquirer DCF method Value per share ¥9,711 〜 ¥13,038[25] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
UBS Securities Japan Co., Ltd. Acquirer Market price method (市場株価平均法) Value per share ¥7,264 〜 ¥8,721[26] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. Target DCF method Value per share ¥9,609 〜 ¥14,907[27] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. Target Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥7,248 〜 ¥8,039[28] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Special committee DCF method Value per share ¥7,037 〜 ¥14,514[29] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —
Daiwa Securities Co., Ltd. Special committee Market price method (市場株価法) Value per share ¥7,264 〜 ¥8,721[30] Discount rate — Perpetual growth rate —

Timeline (filings)

FilingDateFilerdocID
Tender Offer Registration Statement 2024-03-28 KDDI CORPORATION S100T5RI
Position Statement 2024-03-28 Lawson,Inc. S100T5VU
Tender Offer Report 2024-04-26 KDDI CORPORATION S100TC5D

Sources

  1. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100T5RI) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 対象者株式1株当たりの本公開買付価格である10,360円は、本公開買付けの開始予定についての公表日の前営業日である2024年2月5日の東京証券取引所プライム市場における対象者株式の終値8,721円に対して18.79%
  2. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 終値8,721円に対して18.79%
  3. Tender Offer Report (S100TC5D) 2024-04-26
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(39,031,496株)が買付予定数の下限(14,458,500株)以上となりましたので、公開買付開始公告及び公開買付届出書に記載のとおり、応募株券等の全部の買付け等を行います。
  4. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、当社株式の非公開化を目的として、当社株券等の全てを取得することを目的とした本公開買付けを実施するとのことです。
  5. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 当社の親会社である三菱商事株式会社(以下「三菱商事」といい、公開買付者及び三菱商事を総称して「公開買付者関係者」といいます。)(所有株式数:50,150,100株、所有割合:50.06%)
  6. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年9月13日開催の当社取締役会における決議により、岩村水樹氏(当社独立社外取締役)、鈴木智子氏(当社独立社外取締役)及び五味祐子氏(当社独立社外監査役)の3名から構成される特別委員会
  7. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 独自のファイナンシャル・アドバイザー及び第三者算定機関として大和証券株式会社(以下「大和証券」といいます。)を選任いたしました。
  8. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会は、2024年2月5日付で、大和証券から、本公開買付けにおける当社株式の買付価格である1株当たり10,360円が、公開買付者関係者及びそれらの関係会社を除く当社の普通株主にとって財務的見地から公正である旨の本フェアネス・オピニオンを取得しております。
  9. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 本特別委員会は、公開買付者関係者及び当社から独立した第三者算定機関である大和証券から本公開買付価格を含む本取引に係る取引条件が公正である旨のフェアネス・オピニオン(以下「本フェアネス・オピニオン」といいます。)の提出を求め、2024年2月5日付で取得いたしました。
  10. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 2023年12月26日に、本公開買付価格として、当社株式1株当たりの本公開買付価格を8,650円、本新株予約権価格を1円、本米国預託証券が表章する本米国預託株式に係る当社株式の数1株当たりの本公開買付価格を8,650円とする、初回提案を書面で行ったとのことです。
  11. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年1月4日に、当社株式1株当たりの本公開買付価格を9,000円、本新株予約権価格を1円、本米国預託証券が表章する本米国預託株式に係る当社株式の数1株当たりの本公開買付価格を9,000円とする、第2回提案を書面で行ったとのことです。
  12. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年1月11日に、当社株式1株当たりの本公開買付価格を9,500円、本新株予約権価格を1円、本米国預託証券が表章する本米国預託株式に係る当社株式の数1株当たりの本公開買付価格を9,500円とする、第3回提案を書面で行ったとのことです。
  13. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 2024年1月18日に、当社株式1株当たりの本公開買付価格を10,000円、本新株予約権価格を1円、本米国預託証券が表章する本米国預託株式に係る当社株式の数1株当たりの本公開買付価格を10,000円とする、第4回提案を書面で行ったとのことです。
  14. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、当社に対し、2024年1月26日に、当社株式1株当たりの本公開買付価格を10,200円
  15. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、当社に対し、2024年1月29日に、当社株式1株当たりの本公開買付価格を10,290円
  16. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、当社に対し、2024年1月30日に、当社株式1株当たりの本公開買付価格を10,350円
  17. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、当社に対し、2024年1月31日に、当社株式1株当たりの本公開買付価格を10,360円
  18. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100T5RI) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付期間は30営業日、2024年5月13日(月曜日)までとなります。
  19. Tender Offer Registration Statement (S100T5RI) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 公開買付者は、買付予定数の下限を14,458,500株(所有割合:14.43%)と設定しており
  20. Tender Offer Report (S100TC5D) 2024-04-26
    Original text (Japanese): 応募株券等の総数(39,031,496株)が買付予定数の下限(14,458,500株)以上となりましたので
  21. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 直近1ヶ月間の終値単純平均値8,154円に対して27.05%
  22. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 直近3ヶ月間の終値単純平均値7,545円に対して37.31%
  23. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 直近6ヶ月間の終値単純平均値7,264円に対して42.62%
  24. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 類似企業比較法: 6,568円~8,835円
  25. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法: 9,711円~13,038円
  26. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価平均法: 7,264円~8,721円
  27. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法: 9,609円~14,907円
  28. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法:7,248円~8,039円
  29. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): DCF法: 7,037円から14,514円
  30. Position Statement (S100T5VU) 2024-03-28
    Original text (Japanese): 市場株価法: 7,264円から8,721円